You are not logged in.

#1 2022-01-14 22:43:25

PWalsh
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 4

Colorado counties

Hi folks--
I'm using Overpass QL to gather county bounaries for various states.
The query shown here works just fine for some states (e.g. Iowa):

    relation["nist:state_fips"="19"][admin_level=6];
    out geom;

(Iowa's state_fips is 19).

But when I change the value to "08" (Colorado's state_fips code) and run the query, I only get back two counties (Delta and Mesa) out of an expected 64.

If anyone here knows what I'm doing wrong, or can point me in a better direction, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks,
Phil Walsh

Offline

#2 2022-01-15 11:47:51

SK53
Member
Registered: 2009-01-11
Posts: 666

Re: Colorado counties

Many have a state_fips of 8. A better way to do this is (because it uses regular OSM tags):

{{geocodeArea:Colorado }}->.searchArea;
  relation["admin_level"="6"](area.searchArea);

Offline

#3 2022-01-17 17:54:55

PWalsh
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 4

Re: Colorado counties

That helped, thanks, I appreciate it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB