You are not logged in.

Announcement

*** NOTICE: By 30th of September 2022 the forum.openstreetmap.org will be retired, please request a category for your community in the new ones as soon as possible using this process, which will allow you to propose your community moderators. We expect the migration of data will be finished by that date, you can follow its progress here.***

#1 2021-10-01 23:19:42

Knutiii
Member
From: Mainz
Registered: 2021-10-01
Posts: 5

osmand with google earth

Howto add google earth (satellite images) to osmand:
Menu > Configure Map > Map Source > New:
Name: Google Earth
Url: http://mts0.googleapis.com/vt/lyrs=s&x={1}&y={2}&z={0}
Zoom: 1-18
Expiry: 259200 (0.5 year)
Every thing else: default

Now you can add as over- or underlay.

Hope you like it!

Knut

Offline

#2 2021-10-02 15:17:41

n76
Member
Registered: 2013-05-22
Posts: 313

Re: osmand with google earth

Except that Google’s terms of service are incompatible with OpenStreetMap and any edits you do using Google’s imagery are subject to redaction.

Offline

#3 2021-10-03 01:50:18

Knutiii
Member
From: Mainz
Registered: 2021-10-01
Posts: 5

Re: osmand with google earth

@n76: Please explain where the problem is if I add this to my osmand app on my phone?

Offline

#4 2021-10-04 00:34:21

n76
Member
Registered: 2013-05-22
Posts: 313

Re: osmand with google earth

If for your personal use on your phone there should not be a problem. However if you make map updates via Osmand that use that imagery as a source there will be.

Offline

#5 2021-10-04 19:15:12

Knutiii
Member
From: Mainz
Registered: 2021-10-01
Posts: 5

Re: osmand with google earth

Okay, that's what I thought, it's just for my privat use, the included microsoft sat images are very poor.
Osmand is really a great tool, don't know many apps which allow such cool tweaks.

Offline

#6 2021-11-04 00:41:26

SearchAndEnjoy
Member
From: DE-6xxxx
Registered: 2021-11-03
Posts: 5

Re: osmand with google earth

Knutiii wrote:

Howto add google earth (satellite images) to osmand:
(...)
Now you can add as over- or underlay.

Hi,
thanx for this great trick, but does not work for me... Using OsmAnd 3.9.10 from F-Droid.
I added gearth as an overlay map, but nothing is shown. When using gearth as map source, nothing is shown either..
Exactly followed your instructions.

Thanks!

Offline

#7 2021-11-25 17:36:10

K-Research
New Member
Registered: 2021-11-24
Posts: 2

Re: osmand with google earth

The link Url: http://mts0.googleapis.com/vt/lyrs=s&x={1}&y={2}&z={0}
Returns the following error

400. That’s an error.

Your client has issued a malformed or illegal request. That’s all we know.

Offline

#8 2021-12-07 09:24:56

Knutiii
Member
From: Mainz
Registered: 2021-10-01
Posts: 5

Re: osmand with google earth

Yes, the link does not work in a browser because osmand replaces the {?} with values.
Try http://mts0.googleapis.com/vt/lyrs=s&x=0&y=0&z=0 for example, then you'll see google earth image. But in osmand you need the varable link above.

Offline

#9 2021-12-07 09:49:23

Knutiii
Member
From: Mainz
Registered: 2021-10-01
Posts: 5

Re: osmand with google earth

SearchAndEnjoy wrote:
Knutiii wrote:

Howto add google earth (satellite images) to osmand:
(...)
Now you can add as over- or underlay.

Hi,
thanx for this great trick, but does not work for me... Using OsmAnd 3.9.10 from F-Droid.
I added gearth as an overlay map, but nothing is shown. When using gearth as map source, nothing is shown either..
Exactly followed your instructions.

Thanks!

Please be sure to enable the online maps plugin: Menu > Plugins > Online maps: enable
And of course you have to be online smile
I also tested your approach with using googe earth as map source, works as expected, you only see the sat image.
I'm using latest F-Droid Version 4.0.9, not sure if this may be a cause, I do not think so.

Last edited by Knutiii (2021-12-07 09:54:37)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB