You are not logged in.

#1 2020-11-20 10:34:07

Theo Asselman
Member
Registered: 2019-10-19
Posts: 6

Visiblitiy milestones

Dear friends,

I'm adding milestones to a highway. But whatever layer I open after that, they don't show up.
(I follow the Wiki on how to do that.)

I expect them for instance on the 'Humanitarian' map, since they can be important to pinpoint where you are in the dark.
Or the 'Transportmap' (Dutch, 'Transportkaart'), the 'bicyclemap' (Dutch, 'Fietskaart') or even the Standardmap.

But the only way to make them visible is going into the edit-mode. But that of course, is not the way to use the map.

Any suggestions?

Theo

Offline

#2 2020-11-20 15:13:21

Kovoschiz
Member
Registered: 2019-10-06
Posts: 46

Re: Visiblitiy milestones

Its rendering was discussed in the OSM Carto style used by Standard Tile Layer https://github.com/gravitystorm/openstr … ssues/2577, and OSMAnd https://github.com/osmandapp/Osmand/issues/6284.

Offline

#3 2020-11-20 20:02:49

Theo Asselman
Member
Registered: 2019-10-19
Posts: 6

Re: Visiblitiy milestones

Thanks Kovoschiz. So the answer is 'no', you can't.

That's strange. I mean, why the opportunity to place objects that will never show up?:|

Offline

#4 2020-11-20 21:08:06

maro21
Member
From: Wrocław
Registered: 2018-03-06
Posts: 467

Re: Visiblitiy milestones

They are visible on some maps.
I know only one: http://mapa.abakus.net.pl/mapa/
Other maps using highway=milestone you can find on https://taginfo.openstreetmap.org/tags/ … e#projects (this list isn't probably complete)

Offline

#5 2020-11-21 00:59:57

SomeoneElse
Member
Registered: 2010-10-13
Posts: 1,413

Re: Visiblitiy milestones

The style underlying https://map.atownsend.org.uk/maps/map/m … 1.42593767 also shows them.  That map covers the UK and Ireland and not the Netherlands, but you could create a map in that style for NL if you wanted to.

Offline

#6 2020-11-21 11:13:02

Theo Asselman
Member
Registered: 2019-10-19
Posts: 6

Re: Visiblitiy milestones

Thanks all. I see now that there are some 'workarounds' but...

I started mapping for HOTOSM. I saw the pictures, after a flooding, a severe storm and tried to help with mapping roads and buildings.
But then I imagined that I was driving there in a Red Cross car, (maybe in the dark) knowing that I had to leave the main road at a certain point to get to people that need help. And all there is is this main road and the markers, every kilometer. Then, it would be nice to know that you have to drive 10 more markers before you going left or right to get to the victimes. That is why I expected to see the markers at least on the Humanitarian map. Or Standard. But Transport can do as well..

But maybe I'm thinking to much in details. I'm retired from a profession where we mapped everything in public space from and for our city.

By the way, I'm not mapping in the Netherlands, but in Sri Lanka. smile
kmpaaltje.png

Offline

#7 2020-11-21 19:57:00

maro21
Member
From: Wrocław
Registered: 2018-03-06
Posts: 467

Re: Visiblitiy milestones

SomeoneElse wrote:

The style underlying https://map.atownsend.org.uk/maps/map/m … 1.42593767 also shows them.

Yeah, but without showing [distance] is useless...

Offline

#8 2020-11-21 20:00:50

SomeoneElse
Member
Registered: 2010-10-13
Posts: 1,413

Re: Visiblitiy milestones

As the saying goes, pull requests welcome...

Offline

#9 2020-11-22 20:46:34

marczoutendijk
Member
From: Vught
Registered: 2012-03-04
Posts: 2,274
Website

Re: Visiblitiy milestones

OpenPoiMap also can show milestones with the "user pois":
You have to click on a milestone to get its details.
hw-milestone.png?raw=1


--
There is only one place where you can connect a high voltage line to a river: on osm! (but not in JOSM cool )

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB