OpenStreetMap Forum

The Free Wiki World Map

You are not logged in.

#51 2013-02-04 07:08:31

LeiLar
Member
From: Umeå, Sweden
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 12

Re: osmand

One short question about translation:
String 37 Recording layer
Could anyone please explain? Where can I see this string in action? What does it mean?

Offline

#52 2013-02-06 15:51:57

LeiLar
Member
From: Umeå, Sweden
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 12

Re: osmand

How do I copy favorites etc in OsmAnd from e.g. a Nexus 7 onto my son's cellphone?

Last edited by LeiLar (2013-02-06 15:52:33)

Offline

#53 2013-02-06 20:27:18

stephan75
Member
Registered: 2008-05-28
Posts: 2,752

Re: osmand

Question 1:
Better ask in https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgr … rum/osmand

Question 2:
install a good file browser on your android device, like "Total Commander" to see the content of the folder osmand on your sd-card of your phone/tablet ... copy all relevant files via bluetooth or via USB cable and a PC to the other android device.

Offline

#54 2013-02-07 02:27:49

LeiLar
Member
From: Umeå, Sweden
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 12

Re: osmand

Thanks for your advice! I'm a very great fan of TC. Had it for years and year and can't live without it. And it's great that it's available on Android as well.

Offline

#55 2013-03-05 16:33:41

LeiLar
Member
From: Umeå, Sweden
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 12

Re: osmand

Thanks, stephan75!   smile

Offline

#56 2013-03-14 20:56:03

Charlie_Tango
Member
Registered: 2013-03-14
Posts: 8

Re: osmand

Hi all!
  I have used Osmand for quite a while since I installed it in my mobile; it works like a charm, most of the features needed are there so I am really happy with this ap. Now, there's only one thing I have not been able to see in my maps: city borders or province divisions. I live in Cuba and the provinces are very small and devided correctly (as seen on openstreetmap.org. I am using the maps downloaded from: http://download.osmand.net/list.php. When I zoom out, there are no divisions...
  I have checked and unchecked the option "hide boundaries" to see what happens with no result for my maps.
  I am using Osmand 1.1.2 beta.
  Any ideas? I'd really appreciate any comments on this.


What gets us into trouble is not what we don't know. It's what we know for sure that just ain't so.
Mark Twain

Offline

#57 2013-03-27 18:16:08

Pan
Member
Registered: 2009-06-14
Posts: 49

Re: osmand

I have noticed that OSMand does not index the addresses of the multipolygon buildings. This sould be corrected.

Last edited by Pan (2013-03-27 18:21:02)

Offline

#58 2014-07-02 23:13:02

michael9n
Member
Registered: 2014-06-19
Posts: 2

Re: osmand

I really like the maps ever since I installed them but I never really got into advanced options of use. Really got some good ideas here. I drive a lot to unknown locations and I consider myself to be a 'gadget' freek so right now i am really into maps and exploring new features. Got a lot of ideas how to tweak them, thx!:D


To profit fast binary options trading is a must! To be the master of the arts you have to learn the movement of the stock market charts! smile

Offline

#59 2014-07-03 00:52:59

n76
Member
Registered: 2013-05-22
Posts: 241

Re: osmand

Delete: Accidentally responded to a very old post.

Last edited by n76 (2014-07-03 00:54:19)

Offline

#60 2014-09-15 20:41:23

LeiLar
Member
From: Umeå, Sweden
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 12

Re: osmand

So where do I copy my *.kml and *.gpx files? It didn't look like this on my old Nexus 4 IIRC. roll
Osmand%20-%20where%20to%20copy%20files.png

Offline

#61 2014-09-16 08:15:34

BCNorwich
Member
From: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2010-07-31
Posts: 111

Re: osmand

Hi, I think you'll find when you use the device and save a gpx track, another folder will be created to save the gpx track in. In my "osmand" folder I have a similar folder set up as you have plus a folder named "tracks" within which is a subfolder named "rec". In this "rec" folder are all my saved gpx tracks which I can view in Osmand from "My Places" "All Tracks".
So if you want to put gpx files straight in you'll have to create the folder/subfolder.
The above works on my tablet for gpx files but not for kml files. I've put kml files in but Osmand can't see them.
Regards Bernard

Offline

#62 2014-09-16 17:43:17

LeiLar
Member
From: Umeå, Sweden
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 12

Re: osmand

Many thanks, BCNorwich! Worked like a charm.  smile

Offline

#63 2014-11-18 08:01:48

Pan
Member
Registered: 2009-06-14
Posts: 49

Re: osmand

Some addresses are not searchable in osmand. For instance, I can't find this from the osmand GUI: http://www.openstreetmap.org/way/194133 … 92/8.97880

Last edited by Pan (2014-11-18 08:03:03)

Offline

#64 2014-11-18 18:25:55

stephan75
Member
Registered: 2008-05-28
Posts: 2,752

Re: osmand

Pan wrote:

Some addresses are not searchable in osmand. For instance, I can't find this from the osmand GUI: http://www.openstreetmap.org/way/194133 … 92/8.97880

When choosing a city around that place and enetring the streetname letter by letter, you can press the button "search street in other places" or similar ... can you find that street now?

Tell us if yes, then we can evaluate whether OSM data is wrong, or Osmand app.

Offline

#65 2014-11-18 19:05:21

Pan
Member
Registered: 2009-06-14
Posts: 49

Re: osmand

I cant  even  choose Wängi  as city.

Offline

#66 2014-11-20 20:14:36

stephan75
Member
Registered: 2008-05-28
Posts: 2,752

Re: osmand

Hellp Pan,

Once again we have the problem here in the OSM data:

We DO have a boundary relation for Wängi ... http://www.openstreetmap.org/relation/1684574

But a single node with place=xxx and name"Wängi is missing ... either it never has been there, or someone deleted it in the past.

I will try to do some examinations, maybe we can undelete that place node.

Osmand definitivele needs a boundary relation with name=xxx AND a place node with identical name tag.

Offline

#67 2014-11-21 16:15:09

stephan75
Member
Registered: 2008-05-28
Posts: 2,752

Re: osmand

Hello Pan and all,

I tried two methods to dind out whether there has been a node with place=... and name=Wängi ever in the past:

Had a download from switzerland OSM extract from geofabrik.de whehe the oldest file available was from 2014-01-02
use osmconvert and osmfilter to find any object with name=Wängi
output file was empty ... so I assume that there was no place node on 2014-01-02

secondly:

Try the Wizard modus on http://overpass-turbo.eu and entere there "place=* in Wängi" ... added [date:"2011-01-01T15:00:00Z"] at the top of the query (not in the wizard!) and run the query there ...
No place node for Wängi in the past, even when editing the year in the date parameter there.

So if I am still not wrong, we need a newly created place node for Wängi ... anyone with more time then me and with more knowledge of places in Switzerland:
Have a look e.g. at other place nodes around, and feel free to create a new one.
Maybe give a ping here so that we won't end up with 5 nodes created in the same time ;-)

Offline

#68 2014-11-21 17:51:42

Pan
Member
Registered: 2009-06-14
Posts: 49

Re: osmand

Thanks a lot for checking.

Some individual addresses have city=Wängi, though.

Offline

#69 2014-11-22 18:21:55

TA777
Member
From: Seremban, Malaysia
Registered: 2014-08-06
Posts: 22

Re: osmand

I've noticed that OSMand sends my photonote to OSM without notification. There's only a marker, I wonder if it had also uploaded the photo?
I'm fine with it sent without my knowledge but I'd like to be able to access it as well as have it in my profile.
It was taken in the first place for road signs etc, it'll be a great help during editing without having to reach for the mobile.
If it had been uploaded, I can also delete it from my phone to reduce clutter.

Offline

#70 2014-11-25 19:48:53

stephan75
Member
Registered: 2008-05-28
Posts: 2,752

Re: osmand

Pan wrote:

Thanks a lot for checking.

Some individual addresses have city=Wängi, though.

Hello Pan, try to find some local mappers in Switzerland via http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/DE:W … witzerland

and ask them to add a properly tagged place node for Wängi.

If that is done, wait for next Osmand map generation, normally three times in a month.

If you want, report if you can find Wängi then inside Osmand.

Offline

#71 2014-12-11 19:13:11

TA777
Member
From: Seremban, Malaysia
Registered: 2014-08-06
Posts: 22

Re: osmand

TA777 wrote:

I've noticed that OSMand sends my photonote to OSM without notification. There's only a marker, I wonder if it had also uploaded the photo?
I'm fine with it sent without my knowledge but I'd like to be able to access it as well as have it in my profile.
It was taken in the first place for road signs etc, it'll be a great help during editing without having to reach for the mobile.
If it had been uploaded, I can also delete it from my phone to reduce clutter.

I'll take back my words, I've got it wrong. Nothing is sent but rather the markers are tied to whatever GPX I've uploaded. tongue

Offline

#72 2015-04-10 00:48:24

rjlabs
Member
Registered: 2015-02-02
Posts: 4

Re: osmand

Moving all user documentation to OSM Wiki

See the talk / discussion tab page for the main article OsmAnd on the OSM wiki for full history and details here: https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Talk:OsmAnd

Feel free to add comments to the above talk page, or leave a comment on the primary osmAnd forum at https://groups.google.com/d/msg/osmand/ … hP1YZje10J

Offline

#73 2019-09-25 10:25:14

hfinger
Member
Registered: 2015-04-06
Posts: 2

Re: osmand

[BUG] OSMand has a very poor search engine for addresses, origins, and destinations

This is a usability bug. **** Can someone tell me where to lodge bug reports? **** I have gone nuts trying to find a place to lodge issues on github, osmand.org, and here.


Google Maps and Locus Maps have what is in effect a free text search so that almost anything you type in will generate multiple hits. I have never been able to include a street number and get the OSMand to place an origin or destination marker on the target building. I have tried to use the Country > Region > City > Address filter but his doesn't work. It is also useless for unnamed routes, such as bicycle paths and walking paths that are clearly delineated on OSM.

Offline

#74 2019-09-25 12:08:56

kocio
Administrator
From: Warszawa
Registered: 2013-09-04
Posts: 3,285
Website

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB