OpenStreetMap Forum

The Free Wiki World Map

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-09-04 12:53:32

Biertschie
Member
Registered: 2019-09-03
Posts: 5

Rendering issue on own tile server

Hello!

i´m new in the OSM sector. But at least i set up my own OSM Server according to this manual (https://switch2osm.org/manually-buildin ... 18-04-lts /).

Unfortunately, I miss many cells in some zoom levels, although they seem to be rendered. see screenshot at the following link
https://bierbaumer.org/index.php/s/JLKYHK9ZQJztMvR

In the Putty window the command "renderd -f -c /usr/local/etc/renderd.conf" runs to see if cells are being rendered ......

I hope you can help me...

Best regards; Thomas

Offline

#2 2019-09-04 17:16:46

SomeoneElse
Member
Registered: 2010-10-13
Posts: 1,151

Re: Rendering issue on own tile server

I'm guessing that you're just trying to view tiles that haven't been rendered yet.  If you look at the "START TILE" and "END TILE" messages in the log, you'll see that it might take a few seconds to render a tile.  The first time you try and view it there won't be anything there, but the second time there will be an old tile to view while the new one is being rendered.

Offline

#3 2019-09-12 09:00:20

Biertschie
Member
Registered: 2019-09-03
Posts: 5

Re: Rendering issue on own tile server

Hello!!

Yes, i think this took a long time, is it possible to render all tiles at once??
May it took a while, but then no one must be renderd from new....

How can i clean all the rendert tiles...

Best regards, Thomas

Offline

#4 2019-09-14 14:42:58

SomeoneElse
Member
Registered: 2010-10-13
Posts: 1,151

Re: Rendering issue on own tile server

Biertschie wrote:

is it possible to render all tiles at once?

If (in an imaginery example)it takes 2 seconds to render each tile then it'll take 4 seconds to rendering 2 one after the other.  It might take longer then 4 seconds to do both at the same time.  Normally you'd tune things to render the number of tiles at the same time that your system can cope with.

Biertschie wrote:

How can i clean all the rendert tiles.

If you're using mod_tile / renderd, they'll probably be in a directory below "/var/lib/mod_tile".  You'll see one directory per zoom level.

If it helps, here's a script I use for purging old tiles that haven't been rerendered recently: https://github.com/SomeoneElseOSM/mod_t … d_tiles.sh .

Offline

#5 2019-09-16 06:30:18

Biertschie
Member
Registered: 2019-09-03
Posts: 5

Re: Rendering issue on own tile server

I think you misunderstood me, I want to render all parts of a map, no matter how long it takes.

I've discovered the command render_list, but unfortunately there should be something wrong. Look at the image at: https://bierbaumer.org/index.php/s/Ra9IyflSLIWa73L

The window remains unchanged. I had it running all weekend ....

Offline

#6 2019-09-16 09:47:51

SomeoneElse
Member
Registered: 2010-10-13
Posts: 1,151

Re: Rendering issue on own tile server

Biertschie wrote:

I want to render all parts of a map, no matter how long it takes.

The problem with that approach is that you'll render lots of tiles for areas that people never want to look at (such as the middle of the sea).  Here's the example disk usage numbers for each tile layer for a server that I look after:

8341204    .
2023088    17
1898340    16
1367160    15
1207624    18
954396    14
445272    13
151236    12
115796    20
57956    11
27936    19
24808    10
22876    21
11696    9
10868    22
6092    7
5860    8
4792    23

If all tiles in all layers were rendered, you'd expect each layer to use 4 times the disk space of the previous zoom level - even zoom 13 would need vastly more space than it actually does.

Last edited by SomeoneElse (2019-09-16 09:48:06)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB