You are not logged in.

#3001 2019-06-19 12:39:27

David Reik
Member
Registered: 2018-02-08
Posts: 1

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Isn't there something missing from http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl ?  I don't see where to put my email address, or how to download my selection, although I've successfully done this before many times in the past.  Am I missing something obvious?  David Reik, Farmington, CT, USA

Offline

#3002 2019-06-19 12:46:09

GerdP
Member
Registered: 2015-12-18
Posts: 874

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Yes, seems the service is broken again. See previous posts for alternatives, e.g.
https://forum.openstreetmap.org/viewtop … 33#p746933

Offline

#3003 2019-06-30 08:30:58

Party Sausage
Member
Registered: 2019-06-30
Posts: 3

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Hi Is anyone having an issue with some of the tiles the latest osm uk map. Some of them in the north of England do not display on my Garmin Edge when I zoom in closer than 2Km. I've tried both the pre-built uk map & a custom selection & neither of them work correctly. Cheers HD

Offline

#3004 2019-06-30 13:19:31

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,113
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

This could be caused by multiple maps with duplicate tiles. Check it with Javawa Device Manager, http://www.javawa.nl/jdm_en.html

Last edited by ligfietser (2019-06-30 13:20:00)

Offline

#3005 2019-07-03 20:16:36

Party Sausage
Member
Registered: 2019-06-30
Posts: 3

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

I only have the UK OSM map enabled on my device & none of the other maps have any UK tiles. It's very confusing as the tiles I'm having the issue with are the tile covering my local area & another tile adjacent to it.

Offline

#3006 2019-07-04 05:44:18

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,113
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Other maps could have the same ID, they do not have to be enabled to mess things up. You can try to remove those maps to see if it gets better or try another map provider, https://extract.bbbike.org/

Offline

#3007 2019-07-04 19:14:29

Party Sausage
Member
Registered: 2019-06-30
Posts: 3

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

ligfietser wrote:

Other maps could have the same ID, they do not have to be enabled to mess things up. You can try to remove those maps to see if it gets better or try another map provider, https://extract.bbbike.org/

I downloaded the Javawa Device Manager & checked my device maps today. It did show that some of the disabled maps on my Garmin had overlapping tiles with my UK Map, though strangely there weren't any overlaps in my local area where I'd noticed the issue.

I've removed the conflicting maps from my Garmin & the UK map tiles are now being displayed. I did think that if a map was disabled it wouldn't have any effect on the enabled maps, but I guess my assumption was incorrect.

Thanks for you help in tracking down the problem. smile HD

Offline

#3008 2019-07-04 21:34:51

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,113
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Good to hear that it solved your issue. Maps from different areas but from different updates can have identical map ID's. So they don't need to overlap the same area to cause a conflict. And as I mentioned, when they are even disabled, they still can cause conflicts with enabled maps.

Offline

#3009 2019-07-17 20:21:21

Nardo53
New Member
Registered: 2019-07-17
Posts: 1

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

I had the same problem when using Internet Explore. Switched to Chome and it started working for me.:)

Offline

#3010 2019-07-26 10:24:06

Russ McD
Member
From: Hereford & Chiang Mai.
Registered: 2011-04-17
Posts: 244

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Question for UK Mkgmap experts ... when routing from M4 South wales to the M5 West country, Mapsource (and the Zumo) refuses to use the M49.  It routes through the Almondsbury interchange.
All avoidences are off, and shortest or fastest doesn't matter, but if you add a shaping waypoint on the M49, its OK.
What is it about the M49 it doesnt like, as its clearly its the preferred route on the ground.
Is is the Construction Area that the M49 currently runs through, that throws it ?
(All works fine when using directions on the web based map). hmm

Offline

#3011 2019-07-26 10:55:00

Beddhist
Member
From: Doembang Nangbuat, TH
Registered: 2009-07-28
Posts: 426
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Hi Russ, I'm not the expert you seek, but anyhow: my Zumo and Mapsource do this from time to time. I have never been able to figure out why and I simply put it down to bugs that Garmin couldn't be bothered to fix. Happens on maps compiled with cgpsmapper as well.

Regards,
Peter.

Offline

#3012 2019-07-28 17:58:53

GerdP
Member
Registered: 2015-12-18
Posts: 874

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Russ McD wrote:

Question for UK Mkgmap experts ... when routing from M4 South wales to the M5 West country, Mapsource (and the Zumo) refuses to use the M49.  It routes through the Almondsbury interchange.
All avoidences are off, and shortest or fastest doesn't matter, but if you add a shaping waypoint on the M49, its OK.
What is it about the M49 it doesnt like, as its clearly its the preferred route on the ground.
Is is the Construction Area that the M49 currently runs through, that throws it ?
(All works fine when using directions on the web based map). hmm

To answer such a question an mkgmap expert needs to know all input to mkgmap:
The osm data , the style rules, and the options in use.

Offline

#3013 2019-07-29 10:18:50

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,113
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Russ McD wrote:

Question for UK Mkgmap experts ... when routing from M4 South wales to the M5 West country, Mapsource (and the Zumo) refuses to use the M49.  It routes through the Almondsbury interchange.
All avoidences are off, and shortest or fastest doesn't matter, but if you add a shaping waypoint on the M49, its OK.
What is it about the M49 it doesnt like, as its clearly its the preferred route on the ground.
Is is the Construction Area that the M49 currently runs through, that throws it ?
(All works fine when using directions on the web based map). hmm

No issues here with the generic UK map from garmin.openstreetmap.nl version July 19, are you sure you have the latest version?

Offline

#3014 2019-07-29 12:41:28

Russ McD
Member
From: Hereford & Chiang Mai.
Registered: 2011-04-17
Posts: 244

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Yes, using Generic routable (new style).  19-7-19.
The tagging looks OK for the motorways.
However, if I play with the slider in Mapsource, and set it all the way to the right (prefer highways, faster time), well Swansea to Exeter uses the M49 ... but coming back it doesn't !!
Strange... but no obvious answers so I won't lose any sleep over it.
Cheers, all.

Offline

#3015 2019-07-29 13:58:05

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,113
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Russ McD wrote:

Yes, using Generic routable (new style).  19-7-19.
The tagging looks OK for the motorways.
However, if I play with the slider in Mapsource, and set it all the way to the right (prefer highways, faster time), well Swansea to Exeter uses the M49 ... but coming back it doesn't !!
Strange... but no obvious answers so I won't lose any sleep over it.
Cheers, all.

Ah, if I plan your longer route from Swansea to Exeter I can reproduce it. Maybe the router does not like this roundabout?
https://www.openstreetmap.org/way/3391101

Offline

#3016 2019-08-12 21:23:31

moivhod
Member
Registered: 2013-08-18
Posts: 3

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Hello colleagues! Is there a way to install and use several maps in Garmin Basecamp. It seems that the maps downloaded separately can't get along with each other, probably because they have the same name. I was advised to install Mac OS gmap set as it doesn't put any registry entries like Windows Installer. But it doesn't help. Basecamp still displays only one map. Renaming via JaVaWa GMTK is not a remedy either. The map gets a different name only visually, but seems still retaining original name in one of its technical files.

Last edited by moivhod (2019-08-12 21:47:07)

Offline

#3017 2019-08-13 10:35:46

opasto
Member
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 161

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Is there a way to install and use several maps in Garmin Basecamp.

yes, I have  6 different maps in Basecamp and I can switch between them.
I render my maps myself using different FID (File Identifier?) for the maps.
You have to change the FID of your maps to be different. I believe gmaptool does this.

Offline

#3018 2019-09-04 13:00:10

Thom van de Riet
Member
Registered: 2019-08-28
Posts: 3

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Lambertus, thank you for your great work and efforts. I use the routable new style maps in Basecamp and my garmin device.
This works fine! However I still have one question. The maps are extracted from Open Street Map. But on OSM there are more (foot)paths then in the downloaded map.
Here is one example of many: on OSM there is this footpath: https://www.openstreetmap.org/way/686592147
This path does not occur on a downloaded map routable new style
Is this normal? (the downloaded map is a new one, so the footpath is not added afterward).


Thx, Thom

Last edited by Thom van de Riet (2019-09-04 21:25:14)

Offline

#3019 2019-09-04 20:19:32

Sandal man
Member
From: Benissa
Registered: 2016-09-23
Posts: 110

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

You can put a link to the path here, like this:
https://www.openstreetmap.org/way/443851645


Fervent wandelaar aan de Costa Blanca.

Offline

#3020 2019-09-04 21:55:58

Thom van de Riet
Member
Registered: 2019-08-28
Posts: 3

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Sandal man wrote:

You can put a link to the path here, like this:
https://www.openstreetmap.org/way/443851645

Thx Sandal man. I adjusted my post and added an example

Offline

#3021 2019-09-13 18:26:03

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,113
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Thom van de Riet wrote:

Here is one example of many: on OSM there is this footpath: https://www.openstreetmap.org/way/686592147
This path does not occur on a downloaded map routable new style
Is this normal? (the downloaded map is a new one, so the footpath is not added afterward).


Thx, Thom

Don't see anything wrong there, footpaths and tracks should be visible
track.jpg

Offline

#3022 2019-09-13 18:42:58

Thom van de Riet
Member
Registered: 2019-08-28
Posts: 3

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

ligfietser wrote:
Thom van de Riet wrote:

Here is one example of many: on OSM there is this footpath: https://www.openstreetmap.org/way/686592147
This path does not occur on a downloaded map routable new style
Is this normal? (the downloaded map is a new one, so the footpath is not added afterward).


Thx, Thom

Don't see anything wrong there, footpaths and tracks should be visible
https://i.postimg.cc/WprzYzQj/track.jpg

Huh, it took me 15 minutes to figure it out. Stupid!!! My basecamp was set to activity "driving", thus no footpaths. Because of your help I figured it out and set the activity to standard "walking". The footpaths are there.
Thx!

Offline

#3023 2019-09-24 10:59:37

hgmichna
Member
From: Munich, Germany
Registered: 2011-08-28
Posts: 5
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

I thought I could use these wonderful maps to update my old Garmin GPSmap 76C, but on the device I see only a few crude parts, most freeways and very few other roads. The rest of the map, like cities, is empty.

I used BaseCamp to upload. In BaseCamp the maps show completely and look good.

Any idea how to work around this defect? I have already tried whatever I could, to no avail.

Offline

#3024 2019-09-24 11:11:11

Beddhist
Member
From: Doembang Nangbuat, TH
Registered: 2009-07-28
Posts: 426
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

The latest version of BC is reported to have a serious bug, causing such problems. You have 3 choices:

1 - downgrade to the previous version and turn auto-updates off.
2 - Use MapSource, also free from Garmin.
3 - download the img file and copy it directly to your GPS.

Good luck!

Offline

#3025 2019-09-24 15:26:40

hgmichna
Member
From: Munich, Germany
Registered: 2011-08-28
Posts: 5
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Thanks a lot! I uninstalled BaseCamp 4.7.0 twice, because it was there twice, checked that the folder MapInstall had also gone (otherwise I would simply have deleted it), and installed BaseCamp 4.6.2.

This solved the problem entirely. I could immediately upload all the OpenStreetMaps to the Garmin GPSmap 76C without any problems, and the maps appeared on the device in their full glory.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB