OpenStreetMap Forum

The Free Wiki World Map

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-12-06 15:44:01

open_leow
Member
Registered: 2018-12-06
Posts: 3

Not able to geolocate an address given by openstreetmap itself

Hi,
I use nominatim to geolocate a spot. I select one of the addresses among the given results. I save the full (long) address' name in order to retreive it on map display. Using that same saved address to geolocate the spot again, openstreetmap api is not able to find any result !
Can you tell me what I do wrong ?
Thanks !

Offline

#2 2018-12-08 17:43:40

open_leow
Member
Registered: 2018-12-06
Posts: 3

Re: Not able to geolocate an address given by openstreetmap itself

Bump. Is my question twisted ?

Offline

#3 2018-12-08 19:02:27

GerdP
Member
Registered: 2015-12-18
Posts: 452

Re: Not able to geolocate an address given by openstreetmap itself

open_leow wrote:

Bump. Is my question twisted ?

Maybe you should give an example.

Offline

#4 Yesterday 14:12:22

open_leow
Member
Registered: 2018-12-06
Posts: 3

Re: Not able to geolocate an address given by openstreetmap itself

Hi! Thanks for the reply smile
All right so here is the concrete error case. I go on nominatim web page and type in the address I'm looking for (https://nominatim.openstreetmap.org/sea … e+grenoble). It gives me only one result which is a more detailed address. I copy paste that same address in nominatim input field, then it is not able to find any result (find itself somehow). Is that normal ?

Offline

#5 Yesterday 17:04:37

GerdP
Member
Registered: 2015-12-18
Posts: 452

Re: Not able to geolocate an address given by openstreetmap itself

When I click on the link Nominatim shows a box with
"Présidence Université Grenoble Alpes, 621, Avenue Centrale, Médiat Rhône-Alpes, Saint-Martin-d'Hères, Grenoble, Isère, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpen, Metropolitanes Frankreich, 38400, Frankreich (Building)"
When I paste that text I also find nothing. When I change it to

"Présidence Université Grenoble Alpes, 621, Avenue Centrale, Médiat Rhône-Alpes, Saint-Martin-d'Hères, Grenoble, Isère, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpen"
it works, when I add the country like this
"Présidence Université Grenoble Alpes, 621, Avenue Centrale, Médiat Rhône-Alpes, Saint-Martin-d'Hères, Grenoble, Isère, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpen,Frankreich" it also works.
It seems that the postal code 38400 causes problems.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB