OpenStreetMap Forum

The Free Wiki World Map

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-08-08 02:08:16

mikewilliamson
Member
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 3

Correct name for "Ottawa"

I posted a question about what to do when I come across the name "City of Ottawa" when mapping locations in that area. I was directed here.
When adding things to the map I have been using "Ottawa" as the city, and am wondering about correcting some/all instances of "City of Ottawa".
Please take a peek at the question and I would love to get some feedback.

Thanks

https://help.openstreetmap.org/question … e-for-city

Offline

#2 2014-08-08 02:47:23

Chris Purves
Member
Registered: 2013-11-25
Posts: 3

Re: Correct name for "Ottawa"

I agree with the feedback on the linked page.  The place is "Ottawa".  The only time "City of Ottawa" should be referenced is when referring specifically to the government.  The place is Ottawa.  Even Quebec City would more properly be identified as Québec.

Hope that helps.

Offline

#3 2014-08-08 05:15:50

mikewilliamson
Member
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 3

Re: Correct name for "Ottawa"

Should I try to clean up references to "City of Ottawa"? How would I do that? Thoughts?

Offline

#4 2016-08-05 19:55:38

scruss
Member
From: Toronto
Registered: 2016-08-05
Posts: 3
Website

Re: Correct name for "Ottawa"

If the city has a complete boundary relation, you don't need to add the city name to an address at all.


‘Remember the Golden Rule of Selling: “Do not resort to violence.”’ — McGlashan.

Offline

#5 2016-08-09 16:14:38

Undearius
New Member
From: Ottawa, ON
Registered: 2016-08-09
Posts: 1

Re: Correct name for "Ottawa"

According to the wiki, addresses should be tagged based on the mailing address the post office uses. Which in every case I've seen is simply "Ottawa"

The only tags I've seen that use "City of Ottawa" are all the address interpolations.

Offline

#6 2018-11-28 16:29:24

Joshua Gosse
Member
Registered: 2018-11-28
Posts: 3

Re: Correct name for "Ottawa"

I'm not getting Ottawa at all when using Algolia Places, but instead City: Ontario. Is this a problem with Algolia or the data found on OSM?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB