OpenStreetMap Forum

The Free Wiki World Map

You are not logged in.

Announcement

A fix has been applied to the login system for the forums - if you have trouble logging in please contact support@openstreetmap.org with both your forum username and your OpenStreetMap username so we can make sure your accounts are properly linked.

#1 2017-11-14 17:13:25

timstark
Member
Registered: 2017-11-13
Posts: 9

3D Buildings in Rhino/Grasshopper/Elk - Problems with exporting osm

Hello everyone,

when i export an osm. file from openstreetmap.org i'm missing much Information about heigt.

The only city i can create in 3D is New York. Munich, Berlin, Paris, London etc have nearly no heights.

I'm using Rhinoceros3D+Grasshopper+Elk (http://www.food4rhino.com/app/elk)

When I look at a osm-based render websites like http://demo.f4map.com/#lat=52.5167104&l … 31&zoom=17 or http://maps.osm2world.org/?zoom=16&lat= … ers=B0TTFF Paris should be nearly complely 3D.

https://picload.org/view/droaadwr/helposm.jpg.html
This is a screenshot of my Software. I got 902 buildings in the area around Pont Neuf. But only 19 heights.

https://picload.org/view/droaacaw/helposm_1.jpg.html
This is a screenshot of F4map with the same area nearly 3D.

Somebody has an idea why I don't download the informations?

I tried donwloading osm files from Geofabrik (https://www.geofabrik.de/en/index.html) but they are too big. Is there a way to donwload or "slice" it in smaller areas without using openstreetmap.org

Thanks for every help.

Best regards,
Tim

Offline

#2 2017-11-14 20:15:48

stephan75
Member
Registered: 2008-05-28
Posts: 2,671

Re: 3D Buildings in Rhino/Grasshopper/Elk - Problems with exporting osm

Offline

#3 2017-11-14 21:33:50

timstark
Member
Registered: 2017-11-13
Posts: 9

Re: 3D Buildings in Rhino/Grasshopper/Elk - Problems with exporting osm

Sorry, didnt knew it's not allowed. Just thought the thread would be better under this Topic.

Excuse me please.

Offline

#4 2017-11-15 04:52:28

vvoovv
Moderator
Registered: 2008-03-04
Posts: 2,150

Re: 3D Buildings in Rhino/Grasshopper/Elk - Problems with exporting osm

timstark,

You'd better asking in the related Rhinoceros3D+Grasshopper forum, since the issue is about correct processing OSM data by Elk.

Also, you could take look at blender-osm addon for Blender

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB