OpenStreetMap Forum

The Free Wiki World Map

You are not logged in.

#2626 2016-10-24 08:01:43

nevw
Member
From: SE Queensland, Australia
Registered: 2013-04-11
Posts: 402

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Alexey Berezkin wrote:

Is there a way to add house numbers labels to a map?

Option 1...

If you are familiar with using Mkgmap  http://www.mkgmap.org.uk/ , http://osm.thkukuk.de/ has a Mkgmap style that can put a transparent overlay on your map showing the address numbers. The tk-osm file at the bottom of the large table is to be downloaded and used with the Mkgmap program.

You first use JOSM to download and save a small .osm file of the area. If you download a large area you will need to use Splitter too.

The Mkgmap command will look something like this if you use a Mac...

/Library/Internet\ Plug-Ins/JavaAppletPlugin.plugin/Contents/Home/bin/java -jar /Applications/mkgmap-r3695/mkgmap.jar --gmapsupp --style-file=/Applications/mkgmap-tk-osm/tk-osm/address --style=style --list-styles --transparent --description="tkaddress" --family-id=7129 --product-id=1 --draw-priority=15 --mapname=71212001 --family-name="OpenStreetmap Mkgmap" --series-name="Josm " --area-name="default " --route --net --drive-on=left -—link-pois-to-ways --index --housenumbers --add-pois-to-areas /Applications/mkgmap-tk-osm/tk-osm/address/address.txt --output-dir=/Users/xxx/Documents/JOSM/Save_OSM_file/ /Users/xxx/Documents/JOSM/Save_OSM_file/Josm_save.osm

(it is easier to manage if you put all the parameters in a file - Mkgmap documentation for that)

Last edited by nevw (2016-10-24 13:17:45)

Offline

#2627 2016-10-24 08:15:39

nevw
Member
From: SE Queensland, Australia
Registered: 2013-04-11
Posts: 402

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Alexey Berezkin wrote:

Is there a way to add house numbers labels to a map?

Option 2...

You can also use Turbo Overpass to extract the house numbers..

<osm-script>
<union>
<query type="node">
  <has-kv k="addr:housenumber" />
  <bbox-query {{bbox}}/>
</query>
  <query type="way">
  <has-kv k="addr:housenumber" />
  <bbox-query {{bbox}}/>
</query>
</union>
<union>
  <item/>
  <recurse type="down"/>
</union>
<print mode="meta"/>
</osm-script>


Then export to gpx and load that to your gpx folder on the Garmin.
Unfortunately, on zooming in far enough to see all the waypoints, it displays the street name too.
I didn't do this but you could do a search and replace on the gpx file to get rid of text from and including   addr:street to </desc>    and replace with </desc>   and then only the address numbers would be visible.

It may be possible to adjust the Overpass Turbo query to only extract the addr:housenumber part without the street name but I don't know how to do it.

Last edited by nevw (2016-10-24 13:18:27)

Offline

#2628 2016-10-24 08:29:34

nevw
Member
From: SE Queensland, Australia
Registered: 2013-04-11
Posts: 402

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Alexey Berezkin wrote:

Is there a way to add house numbers labels to a map?

Option 3 ...

Easier that the above method is to use a smart phone. I use Maps.me and it displays the house numbers on my iphone and I expect that OsmAnd for the Android does too and you can edit the map using those apps.

Last edited by nevw (2016-10-24 13:19:09)

Offline

#2629 2016-10-24 12:16:58

muralito
Member
Registered: 2012-09-04
Posts: 1,760

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

nevw wrote:

Easier that the above method is to use a smart phone. I use Maps.me and it displays the house numbers on my iphone and I expect that OsmAnd for the Android does too and you can edit the map using those apps.

Yes. But Maps.me also shows the house numbers during navigation, which is useless and clutters the map, making the street names unreadable or very hard to read. I expect that OsmAnd doesn't, at least without a user setting to disable the "feature".

Last edited by muralito (2016-10-24 12:17:30)

Offline

#2630 2016-10-30 15:12:24

KrisBeecroft
New Member
Registered: 2016-10-30
Posts: 1

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Can you please look at the US-Germantown map segment? It's not delivering zipped files when downloaded; just the individual tile files. I can download other maps just fine. smile

Offline

#2631 2016-10-30 15:35:06

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,096
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

KrisBeecroft wrote:

Can you please look at the US-Germantown map segment? It's not delivering zipped files when downloaded; just the individual tile files. I can download other maps just fine. smile

Please report this issue to Lambertus. It has to do with a failure in his map compilation, several people are complaining about this already.

Offline

#2632 2016-11-04 06:33:55

Billcoke
Member
Registered: 2016-11-04
Posts: 5

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Hi,

I'm a Garmin Nuvi user, looking for routable maps for a self drive trip in Japan.

I read the instructions and follow the steps to download the map for Japan. The URL in the email received from OSM, contains only one file (ie. osm_generic_tiles.zip). where can I download this map file (ie. gmapsupp.img) needed for the Gamin GPS?



The options i selected were:
1. Map Type: Generic Routable
2. TYP file: None
3. Preferred country: Japan

Many thanks.

Last edited by Billcoke (2016-11-04 08:30:31)

Offline

#2633 2016-11-04 11:29:03

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,096
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Bill, see my comment above

Offline

#2634 2016-11-04 11:42:32

nevw
Member
From: SE Queensland, Australia
Registered: 2013-04-11
Posts: 402

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Bill, if your need is urgent, you could try another map provider from those listed on the osm wiki site http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/OSM_ … n/Download
Maybe another version from the site you tied may work too I guess.

Offline

#2635 2016-11-05 07:33:01

Billcoke
Member
Registered: 2016-11-04
Posts: 5

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

ligfietser wrote:

Bill, see my comment above

Ligfietser, I wanted to email to Lambertus, but I'm a new user, so don't have permission to do so.

Many thanks.

Last edited by Billcoke (2016-11-05 08:44:28)

Offline

#2636 2016-11-05 08:55:41

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,096
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

When you request a map you will get an email from him, with a reply address.
Or try to request another map when a new update is available.

Offline

#2637 2016-11-05 18:46:41

Billcoke
Member
Registered: 2016-11-04
Posts: 5

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

ligfietser wrote:

When you request a map you will get an email from him, with a reply address.
Or try to request another map when a new update is available.


Many thanks ligfietser, will email to him directly.

Offline

#2638 2016-11-06 09:15:38

andrewebling
New Member
Registered: 2016-11-06
Posts: 1

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Just to confirm, I've been seeing the same issue, where only one type of download file is created (osm_generic_new_tiles.zip) and there is no link to download the Garmin .img file. I've just replied to the "download ready" notification email to advise of the problem and steps to reproduce.

I've now tried a few different map types, but the result always seems to be the same.

EDIT: Further to this, I just selected a much small area with manual tile selection (just the south east of UK, rather than the whole of the UK) and now the download links generated correctly.

Last edited by andrewebling (2016-11-06 09:36:37)

Offline

#2639 2016-11-06 13:28:49

mario_b
Member
Registered: 2015-07-08
Posts: 2

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

It is still the same here ... seems all MAPs for New Style are missing ... i requested generation of some Maps (Greece, Albania ...) got the tracking id and the completion mail.

But on all Requests where only the osm_generic_new_tiles.zip

Example for Greece:
http://osm.pleiades.uni-wuppertal.de/ga … 1463fc512/

Regards Mario

Offline

#2640 2016-11-06 15:28:09

xb4r7x
New Member
Registered: 2016-11-06
Posts: 1

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Looks like there's some software version mismatches or something - the job log errors when it tries to make the gmapsupp file. Won't be fixed until the author runs some updates.

I was able to put all the .img tile files it generated into my Edge 810 and it seems to have worked anyway. I didn't need a lot of tiles though, so ymmv if you have a lot of them.

Getting the TYP file
/home/lambertus/garmin/utils/mkgmap-style-sheets/typ/Openfietsmap lite/20011.typ to ./20011.typ
Building gmapsupp
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: uk/me/parabola/mkgmap/main/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:800)
	at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:142)
	at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:449)
	at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(URLClassLoader.java:71)
	at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:361)
	at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:355)
	at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
	at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:354)
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:425)
	at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:308)
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:358)
	at sun.launcher.LauncherHelper.checkAndLoadMain(LauncherHelper.java:482)
Zipping gmapsupp
Gmapsupp does not exist!

Offline

#2641 2016-11-06 16:27:32

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,096
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

@Mario
You can convert those tiles zip file with osm combiner to a gmapsupp.img and installable version for Basecamp or Mapsource.

Offline

#2642 2016-11-06 22:32:21

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,096
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

@xb4r7x
Seems related to the Java version, see https://forum.openstreetmap.org/viewtopic.php?id=24821
Please mail this issue to Lambertus who builds those maps. He might not check this forum regularly.

Offline

#2643 2016-11-11 06:46:52

Billcoke
Member
Registered: 2016-11-04
Posts: 5

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

ligfietser wrote:

When you request a map you will get an email from him, with a reply address.
Or try to request another map when a new update is available.


Have emailed to Lambertus several times, but no response. Anyone able to get in touch with him?

Last edited by Billcoke (2016-11-11 06:47:15)

Offline

#2644 2016-11-11 08:52:08

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,096
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Billcoke wrote:

Have emailed to Lambertus several times, but no response. Anyone able to get in touch with him?

Unfortunately not, you have to wait until the next update or try another map provider.

Offline

#2645 2016-12-01 09:30:50

zoch
New Member
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 1

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Thanks for the site.

Is there any possibility to cut the size of a huge tile - specifcially SA-Medina - it includes a small part that is required to cover all of Israel, but for that it doubles the size of the file and makes it too big for e.g. Garmin 520. Thanks again.

Offline

#2646 2016-12-01 12:23:00

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,096
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

No, unfortunately not but with http://extract.bbbike.org/ you can exactly specify how big your map will be.

Offline

#2647 2016-12-06 00:51:05

Philatsea
Member
From: Vancouver Canada
Registered: 2015-01-15
Posts: 9

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

I see the recent OSM for Garmin shows a date of 29-11-2016.
How many days before this map would have been the cut-off to tracks that one has added.
I added new trails to an area we use about 6 days prior to this date and they didn't make the update?

Phil

Offline

#2648 2016-12-06 09:18:38

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,096
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Philatsea wrote:

I see the recent OSM for Garmin shows a date of 29-11-2016.
How many days before this map would have been the cut-off to tracks that one has added.
I added new trails to an area we use about 6 days prior to this date and they didn't make the update?

Phil

I'm not sure but max. one day before. I have had a look into my area and my edits from 27-11 where all there so I dont know the cause of your issue. Maybe your map is shown the history cache? You can clear it with ctrl-G (2x).

Offline

#2649 2016-12-15 21:04:04

Randal4
Member
Registered: 2013-09-08
Posts: 13

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Hi

Greate project, but I see some bugs.

1. In Generic Routable stream=river. Looks terrible in garmin Dakota sad

2. Generic Routable (new style) have problem with render water polygon. Example: http://osm.org/go/0hXhu5W?m= is not rendered...

3. Track Grade1 is not redered. Grade1 looks like Grade2, 3... Is not good for MTB.

Offline

#2650 2016-12-16 09:53:55

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,096
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Randal4 wrote:

Hi
Greate project, but I see some bugs.
1. In Generic Routable stream=river. Looks terrible in garmin Dakota sad

Can you send a link and screenshot? Try the Mapnik TYP file or else the Generic New map style.

2. Generic Routable (new style) have problem with render water polygon. Example: http://osm.org/go/0hXhu5W?m= is not rendered...

Those lakes are rendered on the latest map. Maybe you have overlapping maps on your Dakota?
Try to check it with Javawa Device Manager.

3. Track Grade1 is not redered. Grade1 looks like Grade2, 3... Is not good for MTB.

The generic maps are not specifically meant for bicycles. Try the openfietsmap, or openmtbmap.org which is meant for MTB.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB