OpenStreetMap Forum

The Free Wiki World Map

You are not logged in.

#2176 2014-07-03 13:11:00

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

ligfietser wrote:

There are still two red tiles on the latest OFM (also a small part on London).
Lambertus, can you check in your error logs what went wrong? Maybe I can examine those two osm files to see where/if it crashes on my OFM styles? Could be a mkgmap, OFM or OSM bug.

I'll try to look into this tonight. I suspect is has something to do with the recent changes in Splitter algorithms as it was updated at the end of May from r343 to r404 (and since then the latest version on each map update).

Edit:
I already took a peek in the log and, indeed, the initial file is too large for Mkgmap so needs further subsplitting but Splitter cannot find a suitable split configuration roll

Edit:
Possibly there is something else going on that eventually triggers the above. Take a look on the website at Cleveland, Ohio, USA in the OFM lite map. The tiles are getting really small there which suggests that Mkgmap has problems rendering the area which results in further subsplitting. The root cause could be actually something in Mkgmap, OSM data and/or the style.


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#2177 2014-07-03 15:35:31

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,087
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Lambertus wrote:

Possibly there is something else going on that eventually triggers the above. Take a look on the website at Cleveland, Ohio, USA in the OFM lite map. The tiles are getting really small there which suggests that Mkgmap has problems rendering the area which results in further subsplitting. The root cause could be actually something in Mkgmap, OSM data and/or the style.

What I don't understand is why the other generic maps dont have such tiny tiles. Does this subsplitting is carried out after mkgmap fails to process this tile? If so, the OFM style might get stuck on maybe a certain OSM element. Maybe I can investigate that tile further. If this doesnt depend on mkgmap and my OFM style but a huge number of nodes, maybe this area contains too many nodes and the splitter tries to get below a certain number of nodes? Maybe those nodes are not even used in my OFM map. In that case, maybe it's better to carry out the mkgmap process after a 2nd or 3rd subsplit, no matter how many nodes there are in a tile. I always use --max-nodes=1600000 and until so far hardly saw that a tile was skipped (and the last time was a few years ago).

Offline

#2178 2014-07-03 16:14:10

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

All the maps are rendered using the same build scripts, source data, applications and the same initial tile splits. So if there is different behavior then it's either a map specific setting (e.g. max-nodes) or the style. I'll link to the source data later.

The generic routable also has problems, the new generic routable is fine.

Edit:
Initial spliit setting -max-nodes=1500000
The problem initial tile is: 63440523.o5m which is unsuccessfully rendered with the following commandline:
ulimit -t 900 && java -Xmx1792M -XX:StringTableSize=100003 -ea -jar /home/lambertus/garmin/utils/mkgmap/mkgmap.jar --family-id=20011 --product-id=1 --draw-priority=20 --description='Openfietsmap Lite' --series-name='Openfietsmap Lite' --style-file='/home/lambertus/garmin/utils/styles/' --style='ofm_lite' --bounds='/home/lambertus/garmin/utils/bounds.zip' --reduce-point-density=4 --reduce-point-density-polygon=8 --precomp-sea='/home/lambertus/garmin/utils/sea.zip' --generate-sea=land-tag=natural=background --show-profiles=1 --add-pois-to-lines --index --location-autofill=is_in,nearest --latin1 --remove-short-arcs --min-size-polygon=10 --merge-lines --add-pois-to-areas --preserve-element-order --process-destination --process-exits --route --name-tag-list=name:en,int_name,name:zh_py,name:engels,name --x-housenumbers --copyright-message='Map data \A9 openstreetmap.org, Map layout \A9 openfietsmap.nl' --input-file=63440523.o5m

Which gives:
java.lang.AssertionError
    at uk.me.parabola.mkgmap.reader.osm.RestrictionRelation.getWayIds(RestrictionRelation.java:604)
    at uk.me.parabola.mkgmap.reader.osm.LinkDestinationHook.retrieveWays(LinkDestinationHook.java:149)
    at uk.me.parabola.mkgmap.reader.osm.LinkDestinationHook.end(LinkDestinationHook.java:727)
    at uk.me.parabola.mkgmap.reader.osm.OsmReadingHooksChain.end(OsmReadingHooksChain.java:79)
    at uk.me.parabola.mkgmap.reader.osm.o5m.O5mBinMapDataSource.load(O5mBinMapDataSource.java:49)
    at uk.me.parabola.mkgmap.reader.osm.OsmMapDataSource.load(OsmMapDataSource.java:127)
    at uk.me.parabola.mkgmap.main.MapMaker.loadFromFile(MapMaker.java:167)
    at uk.me.parabola.mkgmap.main.MapMaker.makeMap(MapMaker.java:63)
    at uk.me.parabola.mkgmap.main.Main$1.call(Main.java:253)
    at uk.me.parabola.mkgmap.main.Main$1.call(Main.java:249)
    at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(FutureTask.java:262)
    at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:1145)
    at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:615)
    at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:744)
Exiting - if you want to carry on regardless, use the --keep-going option

Then my script tries to subsplit until everything is rendered which ultimately leaves a tiny tile that cannot be rendered: 63442037.o5m

As a sidenote:
I also see this error for OFM Lite:
SEVERE (StyledConverter): 63440363.o5m: routable type 0x08 is used with a non-routable way which was also added as a routable way. This leads to routing errors. Try --check-styles to check the style.


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#2179 2014-07-03 19:16:59

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,087
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

I havent examined the problem yet, but I notice one important difference: -ea (enable assertion).
In the past map generation broke on tiny errors on osm when enabling this. After I removed this option, I never had any errors/empty tiles. See https://www.mail-archive.com/mkgmap-dev … 10947.html

Offline

#2180 2014-07-03 19:19:17

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Another problem is showing up with the generic map: A rendered tile is judged to be too large by my build script and is subsequently subsplit, but Splitter is unable to generate at least two subtiles. The succesfully rendered tile is removed because it is too large but there is no replacement available so the area turns up as a red square in the website. I think this needs to be reported to the Splitter devs.

ulimit -t 900 && java -Xmx1792M -XX:StringTableSize=100003 -ea -jar /home/lambertus/garmin/utils/mkgmap/mkgmap.jar --family-id=2000 --product-id=6 --draw-priority=20 --description='OSM Generic Routable' --series-name='OSM Generic Routable' --style-file='/home/lambertus/garmin/utils/styles/' --style='default' --bounds='/home/lambertus/garmin/utils/bounds.zip' --reduce-point-density=4 --reduce-point-density-polygon=8 --precomp-sea='/home/lambertus/garmin/utils/sea.zip' --show-profiles=1 --add-pois-to-lines --index --location-autofill=bounds,is_in,nearest --latin1 --remove-short-arcs --min-size-polygon=10 --merge-lines --add-pois-to-areas --preserve-element-order --make-opposite-cycleways --process-destination --process-exits --route --name-tag-list=name:en,int_name,name:zh_py,name:engels,name --input-file=63240007.o5m
Time started: Mon Jun 30 09:23:22 CEST 2014
Number of MapFailedExceptions: 0
Number of ExitExceptions: 0
Time finished: Mon Jun 30 09:24:38 CEST 2014
Total time taken: 75772ms
09:24:38 Processing file 63240007.o5m failed (result=0, exists=1, size=13342208)
09:24:38  Removing 63240007.img
09:24:38 Acquire the split lock
09:24:38 Splitting 63240007 with nodes=1500000, starting at 63242034. Max id was 63242033, level = 1

Cannot find a good split with exactly 2 areas

The lines in italics come from my script and the underscored line is coming from Splitter. The other lines come from Mkgmap.

The original source tile that somehow cannot be subsplit further is: 63240007.o5m

The commandline for Splitter-r412 is:
java -Xmx7000m -ea -jar ~/garmin/utils/splitter/splitter.jar --output=o5m --keep-complete=true --no-trim=true --mapid=1 --max-nodes=1500000 --max-areas=1024 --write-kml=$split_dir/initial.kml --geonames-file=/home/lambertus/garmin/utils/cities15000.zip /home/lambertus/planet.openstreetmap.org/planet-latest.o5m

Edit:
I  changed the build script to render the problem tile again when Splitter cannot subsplit further and just not check the result but continue rendering the next tile.


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#2181 2014-07-03 20:15:55

JorgeDCR
Member
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 6

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Thank you everyone for the help. It appears that, per Beddhist, 'shortest distance' instead of 'fastest route' was the culprit.

Offline

#2182 2014-07-03 21:05:36

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

I'm glad the cause has been found. smile


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#2183 2014-07-03 22:07:51

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,087
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

I tracked down what caused the tile of Cleveland did not process. I couldnt download your o5m files but with a small extract from Cleveland I was able to reproduce it.

If I remove -ea it will process normally (thats what I always do).
With -ea, mkgmap couldnt compile the tile.
If I use --ignore-turn-restrictions mkgmap will process the tile, so the bug was in one of the turn-restrictions.

I found out that the problem was this relation http://www.openstreetmap.org/relation/3490966
My style didnt seem to handle the type=restriction:motorcar very well so I changed the code (for a bike map I want to ignore this restriction, but somehow mkgmap crashed on this). I dont know if it's a bug in mkgmap or in my styles but I think it will pass the next update without errors.

Offline

#2184 2014-07-04 07:50:32

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Thanks Ligfietser,

The file access forbidden was a dumb permission problem.

I remember -ea was once necessary to prevent Mkgmap generating broken maps but apparently this is no longer so. If the next update is still giving problems then I'll remove this option.

There is still a line missing in the typ file for generic_new: https://code.google.com/p/mkgmap-style- … d/2000.txt

Can you add the following before line 2188?:

[_line]

Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#2185 2014-07-04 08:18:22

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,087
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

I've added _line, thanks for noticing it.

Lambertus wrote:

As a sidenote:
I also see this error for OFM Lite:
SEVERE (StyledConverter): 63440363.o5m: routable type 0x08 is used with a non-routable way which was also added as a routable way. This leads to routing errors. Try --check-styles to check the style.

You can ignore those errors smile

Offline

#2186 2014-07-04 09:09:25

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

ligfietser wrote:

I've added _line, thanks for noticing it.

Thanks.

ligfietser wrote:
Lambertus wrote:

As a sidenote:
I also see this error for OFM Lite:
SEVERE (StyledConverter): 63440363.o5m: routable type 0x08 is used with a non-routable way which was also added as a routable way. This leads to routing errors. Try --check-styles to check the style.

You can ignore those errors smile

Great.

New update running smile


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#2187 2014-07-08 09:01:45

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

The problem with the OFM-lite style seems to be resolved, Cleveland looks normal again.

The generic map still has red-tiles, a better work-around is now implemented and a new version should come online ~tomorrow. A report for Splitter is sent to the Mkgmap mailinglist.


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#2188 2014-07-08 09:02:04

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,087
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

OFM doesn't have those red tiles anymore, but I do see a lot of red tiles in the generic map. I notice the tiles in the ocean are not matched together (because you use --no-trim=true). Any reason for this to use --no-trim? Maybe it helps to solve the splitter problem to leave this parameter out (the generic new map is fine).

Offline

#2189 2014-07-08 09:42:59

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

ligfietser wrote:

OFM doesn't have those red tiles anymore, but I do see a lot of red tiles in the generic map. I notice the tiles in the ocean are not matched together (because you use --no-trim=true). Any reason for this to use --no-trim? Maybe it helps to solve the splitter problem to leave this parameter out (the generic new map is fine).

Well, I thought the -no-trim option should prevent this behavior instead of provoking it. wink

But I'll try it for the next update (after the one that's currently running).


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#2190 2014-07-08 11:02:25

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,087
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

I never use --no-trim because it makes gaps in the ocean, so I guess it's better to leave it out wink
If I search on the mkgmap dev list, I find this comment from Gerd:
http://comments.gmane.org/gmane.comp.gi … evel/13701

Trimming singular tiles doesn't make much sense, esp. not with
keep-complete=true. We risk holes in the map and gaps in ways crossing the tile, eg. ferry lines

Offline

#2191 2014-07-09 13:31:40

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

The problem with the red-squares is solved, also for the generic map. smile The script now expects at least 2 tiles from Splitter on each subsplit and when just one new tile is found it will simply render this without further tests. This is a solid work-around that even works when Splitter eventually gets fixed.

Next up: reducing the number of map variants (Windows, gmapsupp, gmapi, tiles) to reduce the CPU load. Especially the NSIS installer for Windows uses a lot of CPU cycles. Ligfietser's OFM map shows that it's possible to combine a small installer with the tiles in a single zip-file, resulting in the need for only one file for both Windows as Linux.

Edit 22:00 CET:
I'm guessing about 40 tot 50 people are downloading at the same time from the country server, the harddisk is maxxed-out and 200+ MBit/s is pumped out the ethernet port... cool big_smile


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#2192 2014-07-09 22:08:28

Bodee
Member
Registered: 2014-07-09
Posts: 2

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Why has my Norton Anti-Virus software blocked this website as a "known malicious" website, as of this morning?

Offline

#2193 2014-07-09 23:06:53

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

I think it is a false positive, these things happen. You can check yourself by testing the website using online virusscanners like http://www.virustotal.com


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#2194 2014-07-10 09:06:20

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,087
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Bodee, please also report it at https://submit.symantec.com/false_positive/

Offline

#2195 2014-07-10 09:16:48

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Ligfietser, I have a first test map that includes a small installer in the _tiles.zip. BaseCamp shows the map alright. smile

Only difference is that this installer does not move+install the map in \Garmin\maps but simply in the directory where you unpacked the zip file. Do you think this a problem for end-users?

I know the tiles are just a random selection, this test is purely about the _tiles.zip file and the small install.exe


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#2196 2014-07-10 09:38:21

ligfietser
Moderator
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 5,087
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

I understand this new approach takes a little more effort for the user than just click on the exe installer and let the installer do the job.
As long as we give them good instructions about the changes (perhaps in the wiki?) I dont think its a problem?

The only big difference is that the users need to do an extra step,
1) unpack it to the location where you want to put the map
2) look for the install.exe file and execute this

BTW another problem, the install.exe might be detected as false positive by some scanners hmm

Offline

#2197 2014-07-11 10:32:13

renelm
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2014-06-15
Posts: 3

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

ligfietser wrote:

Thanks for reporting René. The reason is that the typ file isn't processed in all maps.
I'll ask Lambertus what went wrong there.

In the generic_new typ file a section start (one line) was missing and that caused Mkgmap to exit prematurely. This has now been fixed for new maps.

And there was much yayness \o/ smile

Offline

#2198 2014-07-12 15:41:01

GerhardKreuzer
Member
Registered: 2014-07-12
Posts: 2

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

Hi,

newbee question:
How can I give the maps in BaseCamp meaningful names?

I composed two maps for two trips. Now I get the osm_generic_new_gmapsupp..exe file, I use the Windows Version and execute it. After that I have one map in my basecamp. But now I want to install a second map of a different Region. How can I do this having meaningful names in the Basecamp Dropdown box????

I also installed the map on my Germin device copying the map to a SD Card and rename the .img file, this works fine.

With best regards

Gerhard

PS: Want end up with the tracks of all my trips and having all maps used for that trips in basecamp

Offline

#2199 2014-07-12 16:16:08

JaVaWa
Member
Registered: 2010-11-15
Posts: 137
Website

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

You can rename the maps with JaVaWa GMTK: http://www.javawa.nl/gmtk_en.html

Offline

#2200 2014-07-14 17:04:45

Mafketel
Member
Registered: 2012-12-18
Posts: 27

Re: Worldwide routable Garmin maps: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl

I noticed that this landuse=reservoir was not showing on my oregon 300 gps it is showing in basecamp.
https://www.openstreetmap.org/#map=17/36.16946/27.99237
generic routable new 13-06-2014 greece

The other thing, in basecamp a lot of the islands in Greece are rendered with hatching, If i look at the data in the editor there is not anything defined.
So for instance next to the reservoir there is "nothing" while the whole of Rhodes is hatched, including the reservoir.

And something else that i noticed while walking around in the old city of Rhodes with my gps is that those streets are rendered as very thin white lines against a light background on even the maximum zoom in level. Making it almost impossible to see the roads inside the old town.
https://www.openstreetmap.org/#map=18/36.44260/28.22540

Last edited by Mafketel (2014-07-14 17:16:19)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB