What has already been done?

Newbie here…

Map Making Overview Wiki topic links to the main map to “see what’s already done around your area.” When I look at Raleigh, North Carolina in the US, I see a complete set of streets rendered like GMaps or Yahoo Maps, but some streets look like someone dragged a highlighter marker over them. It is not at all clear to me what has already been done and what remains to be mapped.

Judging by the irregular line jogs, the “highlighted” streets look like overlays generated from GPS data. Does that mean that OSM needs GPS data for streets that look like they’ve been rendered by GMaps or Yahoo Maps? Could someone clue me in?

[Edit] Saw on the Wiki that what I referred to as “GMaps or Yahoo Maps rendered data” is actually import of the US Census TIGER data. My question still stands.

-stopgap

P.S.: Apologies if this is a repost. I couldn’t find this info using search.

The highlighed streets and POIs are areas which aren’t available in our mapping style database, this is an error in the map data or in the openstreetmap mapping style database… Use you local knowledge to control data and add footpaths and cycleways, it’s very hard to see that data is missing until you try to add your own data. So try to controll the area were you live.

You are in the US, and the imported Tiger isn’t that accurate, so you basically should go around all streets and controll that they are ok. But then again I have no idea how that works, perhaps someone form the US can answer more about that.