OpenStreetMap Forum

The Free Wiki World Map

You are not logged in.

Announcement

A fix has been applied to the login system for the forums - if you have trouble logging in please contact support@openstreetmap.org with both your forum username and your OpenStreetMap username so we can make sure your accounts are properly linked.

#226 2014-11-06 17:15:55

xOli
Member
Registered: 2014-03-26
Posts: 2

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Hi all

Any news when the API is available again? Still all services are down :-(

Best regards

Offline

#227 2014-11-07 11:49:00

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

This is very unfortunate...

Long story short:
The webfrontend (yournavigation.org) runs on a sponsored server, organised by the local (Dutch) OSM community.

I went on holiday, an email came in asking me to organise things so that a new infrastructure could be installed. A new infrastructure got installed and the old server removed. Then I came back from holiday, big surprise, lot's of panic mails in my inbox.

I've got copies from the old server and trying to get access to the new one. Unfortunately the one person who organises this does not have time. I don't know when everything will be back.

I'm afraid the timing and organisation of this hardware upgrade is poorly planned.


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#228 2014-11-08 15:20:07

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Ok, a new server is now hosting the yournavigation website. You can visit it at http://144.76.224.55/index.php while I figure out how the change the DNS for yournavigation.org


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#229 2014-11-09 18:09:51

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

DNS is fixed as is the webserver config, so everything is working again.


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#230 2014-11-09 20:16:34

xOli
Member
Registered: 2014-03-26
Posts: 2

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Yes .. everything is working :-)
Thank you

Best regards

Offline

#231 2014-11-10 11:20:13

Hans Kristian Flaatten
Member
Registered: 2014-11-10
Posts: 2

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Hi Lambertus, and thanks for getting the service back online again. Unfortunately it is not working a 100% correctly since it came back online. Look at what the routing API returns as reported her [1]:

URL: http://www.yournavigation.org/api/1.0/g … 2164834513

Return

{
  "type": "LineString",
  "crs": {
    "type": "name",
    "properties": {
      "name": "urn:ogc:def:crs:OGC:1.3:CRS84"
    }
  },
  "coordinates":
  [
[8.629732, 61.491066]
,[8.629711, 61.491066]
...
,[8.719095, 61.501805]
,[8.720230, 61.501884]
  ],  "properties": {
    "distance": "6.640379",
    "description": "To enable simple instructions add: 'instructions=1' as parameter to the URL",
    "traveltime": "4812"
    }
}
<br />
<b>Warning</b>:  fopen(/home/lambertus/public_html/yours/cache-20141110.csv): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in <b>/var/www/api/1.0/gosmore.php</b> on line <b>382</b><br />
<br />
<b>Warning</b>:  fopen(/home/lambertus/public_html/yours/cache-20141110.csv): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in <b>/var/www/api/1.0/gosmore.php</b> on line <b>389</b><br />

[1] https://github.com/Turistforeningen/lea … /issues/29

Offline

#232 2014-11-10 11:20:43

Sergey Nefedov
Member
Registered: 2014-11-10
Posts: 1

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Hello. Please, help me with following issue

I use leaflet routing library (https://github.com/Turistforeningen/leaflet-routing), that use API from http://www.yournavigation.org. After DNS was fixed there still not possibility to build routing. I get invalid JSON in response https://github.com/Turistforeningen/lea … t-62360554

Best regards

Offline

#233 2014-11-11 10:02:31

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Thanks for the reports. If fixed the error yesterday evening. Can you confirm it is working properly now?


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#234 2014-11-11 10:08:00

Hans Kristian Flaatten
Member
Registered: 2014-11-10
Posts: 2

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Works like a charm Lambertus!

Offline

#235 2015-02-21 15:25:57

DrPolar
Member
Registered: 2015-02-21
Posts: 2

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Has the Engine stopped working for the United States? It seems to work for Spain/Europe, but I get blank answers for coordinates in the US and Africa, Middle East, Japan sad

Here's an example link:
http://www.yournavigation.org/api/dev/r … yer=mapnik

Offline

#236 2015-02-23 17:37:57

DrPolar
Member
Registered: 2015-02-21
Posts: 2

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

It's up and running, again. Yay! Pehaps this is some downtime during a rebuild of the .pak files?

DrPolar wrote:

Has the Engine stopped working for the United States? It seems to work for Spain/Europe, but I get blank answers for coordinates in the US and Africa, Middle East, Japan sad

Here's an example link:
http://www.yournavigation.org/api/dev/r … yer=mapnik

Offline

#237 2015-02-24 20:45:50

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

DrPolar wrote:

It's up and running, again. Yay! Pehaps this is some downtime during a rebuild of the .pak files?

Good to see it's back, the server which hosts north/south America was down for two days. I'm not aware of the cause.


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#238 2015-03-17 14:49:43

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Good and bad news:

The good:
The service is now processing almost 700.000 route requests per day, up from 550k requests in October last year, most of the requests being handled by only one sponsored server! I'm constantly amazed how well Gosmore scales smile

The bad:
One IP address alone is responsible for over 200k requests per day. The server has been sending warning headers along with the route result for several days but the high demand is still coming in. Unfortunately I'll have to add this IP-address to the ban-list this evening, especially because it doesn't adhere to the FUP which requests that the client identifies itself (so I can contact the owner in case of overuse, like now).


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#239 2015-03-18 02:11:14

Skip129
Member
Registered: 2015-03-18
Posts: 3

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Is there a way to force the name finder to only match cities/suburbs? For example, entering "Eastern Creek, NSW, Australia" places the marker on the creek, and the point that it happens to use is not actually located in the suburb of that name. Thanks for the service!

Offline

#240 2015-03-18 09:19:00

Lambertus
Administrator
From: Apeldoorn (NL)
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 3,269
Website

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

According to the documentation you can't search for cities/suburbs specifically. Toying with the search term might help a bit, providing e.g. "Eastern Creek 1, NSW, Australia" gives a different result.


Mapping tools: Garmin GPSmap 60CSx, Giant Terrago 2002

Offline

#241 2015-03-18 10:05:42

Skip129
Member
Registered: 2015-03-18
Posts: 3

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Thanks. I will actually be using the API btw,  but I haven't tried it yet.  It looks like there is hope - Nominatum allows me to query by city name (e.g city="Eastern Creek"), and that DOES return the city information, including the coordinates of the centre point - it's the centre point that I want! smile  Am I missing something?

Last edited by Skip129 (2015-03-18 10:06:13)

Offline

#242 2015-03-22 06:36:32

Skip129
Member
Registered: 2015-03-18
Posts: 3

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Back on the yournavigation.org demo site - I've noticed something very odd. If I compare the travel times between two identical routes, but using Fastest and Shortest, the travel time using Shortest is significantly less than Fastest. An example route is between "Newport, NSW" and "Avalon, NSW". The Fastest and Shortest routes look identical, but there is a huge discrepancy in the travel time. (290s for Fastest, 126s for Shortest). Vehicle type is Motorcar.

EDIT: Sorry - I see that someone else has already reported this, here: http://forum.openstreetmap.org/viewtopi … 82#p370782

I'm finding that the Fastest algorithm seems to give more realistic times than Shortest.

Last edited by Skip129 (2015-03-22 07:07:32)

Offline

#243 2015-04-14 11:19:54

AldrinMoonbreeze
Member
Registered: 2015-04-14
Posts: 1

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Hello Lambertus, and great thanks for all the work!
I've got a question: does it still make sense to post weird routes here? There is one I'd like to find a solution for, but it's unclear whether posting it will solve anything, because page says that "there's no need to add more weird routes", despite of the fact that last of the weird routes was added in 2009.

Offline

#244 2015-05-21 12:56:32

glebius
Member
From: Moscow, RU
Registered: 2009-02-24
Posts: 1,170

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Hi! Quoting the site: "Routing data from planet file: 2014-09-02". Almost 9 months old. Any plans to update?

Offline

#245 2015-06-07 04:40:38

AquaGen
Member
Registered: 2012-10-21
Posts: 211

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

I can not create a route from the city to other cities. Only in the city or in the countryside. How to fix it?

Offline

#246 2015-06-27 21:54:42

pgf
Member
Registered: 2015-06-27
Posts: 1

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

The permalink feature is broken.  :-/    the site creates this url, for instance:

http://www.yournavigation.org/?flat=48. … yer=mapnik

when reused, all of the intermediate waypoints will have the same lat/lon as the "from" lat/lon points.  effectively, all intermediate points are present in the url, but lost when the url is rendered.

paul

Offline

#247 2016-09-14 18:03:25

crimean_us
Member
From: Crimea
Registered: 2013-02-17
Posts: 5
Website

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Hi Lambertus,
I still use your API. But it does not work for several days or weeks..
So I get the ansver:
"Server not ready to process requests. Please try again later."
for any browsers, regions and requests. For example:
http://www.yournavigation.org/api/dev/r … ructions=1
http://144.76.224.55/api/dev/route.php? … ructions=1
Will they answer as expected?

Offline

#248 2016-09-21 17:37:37

crimean_us
Member
From: Crimea
Registered: 2013-02-17
Posts: 5
Website

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Hi Lambertus,
I have found that it works without parameter &v=foot
For example http://www.yournavigation.org/api/dev/r … ructions=1
instead of close:
http://www.yournavigation.org/api/dev/r … s=1&v=foot
Or it works with parameter &v=motorcar
http://www.yournavigation.org/api/dev/r … v=motorcar
What should I do?
What is the problem for foot?.

Offline

#249 2016-09-22 08:06:58

R0bst3r
Member
Registered: 2015-04-23
Posts: 293

Re: Routing website using Gosmore routing engine

Lambertus is not available since some months. Not sure if he will read your questions at all. Sorry ...


Wenn jeder Neuling überall auf der Welt jeden Mist hinzufügen und löschen darf, sollten Fehlerbehebungen als solche auch toleriert werden.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB