You are not logged in.

#1 2020-08-15 07:01:41

Nico Tripcevich
Member
Registered: 2020-08-15
Posts: 5

How may I update OSM attribute values in QGIS and upload back to OSM

Hello I understand that OSM has topology requirements that make JOSM the preferred way to edit geometry. I will do the geometry edits in JSOM however most of my improvements are to the Attribute table. I am developing a historical and architectural dataset and I would like to upload the relevant updated attribute information back to the OSM project but leave the geometry unchanged.
I have kept the Building# field that I acquired with the overpass.turbo export.  If I have the building# field preserved can I join my attribute table to the existing OSM data and update the relevant records?

Offline

#2 2020-08-16 04:50:06

Nico Tripcevich
Member
Registered: 2020-08-15
Posts: 5

Re: How may I update OSM attribute values in QGIS and upload back to OSM

Note that commercial software has a dedicated OSM editor. Kudos to esri i guess.
ArcGIS Editor for OSM 10.8.x Desktop
https://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?i … 425a680ad3
ArcMap tools that support using OpenStreetMap data inside ArcGIS. Load .osm files, apply symbology, contribute data back to OSM, and create network datasets from OSM data files.
Updated: Jun 5, 2020 Number of Downloads: 1,949

Offline

#3 2020-08-16 10:01:02

RicoElectrico
Member
From: Trójmiasto
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 1,512

Re: How may I update OSM attribute values in QGIS and upload back to OSM

I advise against using either of them to edit OSM. Take time to "unlearn" QGIS/ArcGIS, otherwise you will keep stumbling on your way.
The data model of GIS apps is not 1:1 losslessly compatible with OSM. Two examples: 1) key-value attributes vs tables with finite number of fixed fields, 2) topological model vs point/line/area model.
The truth is you can do "attribute table" editing in JOSM as well (Ctrl+T) when objects are selected.

But this is not the most important thing. You did not tell whether you have permission to upload data to OSM. I don't know whether you are going to edit in the US (as given by your prior edits), but please contact the local community. Please read https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Import/Guidelines

Last edited by RicoElectrico (2020-08-16 10:02:15)

Offline

#4 2020-08-16 21:32:20

ntrip6
Member
Registered: 2020-08-15
Posts: 5

Re: How may I update OSM attribute values in QGIS and upload back to OSM

I found this Opendata Plugin - using data from a spreadsheet https://learnosm.org/en/josm/opendata-p … ata-plugin

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB