You are not logged in.

#26 2020-07-15 09:18:30

Kars
Member
From: Hengelo
Registered: 2016-07-22
Posts: 157

Re: Standard carto not updating?

A request to re-render also doesn't seem to solve the issue. For instance, the status of this tile is:

Tile is clean. Last rendered at Wed Jul 15 08:14:52 2020. Last accessed at Wed Jul 15 08:14:52 2020. Stored in file:///srv/tile.openstreetmap.org/tiles/default/19/66/42/98/161/0.meta

(Dates might not be accurate. Rendering time might be reset to an old date for tile expiry. Access times might not be updated on all file systems)

But it doesn't show the current situation (modified yesterday).

Offline

#27 2020-07-15 09:52:15

JeroenHoek
Member
Registered: 2014-06-22
Posts: 815

Re: Standard carto not updating?

I'm having some success marking tiles as dirty via HTTP, but that's not a scalable solution. It does look like changes aren't being picked up for some days now.

Offline

#28 2020-07-16 12:13:05

aaronsta
Member
Registered: 2020-07-07
Posts: 4

Re: Standard carto not updating?

Hi all,
Just want to add that I am also experiencing the same problems, and have been for a few weeks now.
This is a major problem, as I cannot "check" my edits to make sure everything is alright, and has prevented me from being able to do any editing beyond very small things.

This website:

http://tools.geofabrik.de/map/#2/43.000 … ard&grid=1

Is a good one for tile dirtying. To dirty tiles click the + and turn off the two overlay layers,
then simply right click, and open image in new tab then add /dirty to the url (and /status to view the status).
(e.g.: https://b.tile.openstreetmap.org/2/2/1.png/dirty).

(Also https://www.informationfreeway.org/unfortunately no search function, but you can use permalink to make it easier to navigate).


The manual dirtying has not been working for me given that the server seems to be behind on rendering.
(Note also: there used to be a greasemonkey script for Firefox (which stopped working after a Firefox update), there might be something similar somewhere for tile dirtying).

These are good webpages to see how the server is tracking.
https://munin.openstreetmap.org/problems.html
https://munin.openstreetmap.org/renderd-month.html
https://munin.openstreetmap.org/openstr … essed.html

Last edited by aaronsta (2020-07-16 12:38:25)

Offline

#29 2020-07-16 13:23:22

SomeoneElse
Member
Registered: 2010-10-13
Posts: 1,529

Re: Standard carto not updating?

aaronsta wrote:

This is a major problem, as I cannot "check" my edits to make sure everything is alright, and has prevented me from being able to do any editing beyond very small things.

Is there not a non-OSM-hosted server anywhere (perhaps more local to you) that doesn't have dozens of taxi apps trying to freeload off it as well (as the tiles at osm.org have)?  The tiles at openstreetmap.de are usually a good bet.  Also what about the other layers at osm.org - I know that the two Thunderforest layers don't update instantaneously, but what about the other two?

Alternatively, (assuming you're in Australia - apologies if I'm confusing you with someone else) a tile server to handle all of Asutralia + Oceania is well within "desktop PC" range as suggested by the data size at http://download.geofabrik.de/ .  Various options are available (see https://switch2osm.org/serving-tiles/), and enabling automatic updates is pretty easy too - see https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Use … nStreetMap among others.

Offline

#30 2020-07-17 08:33:59

kocio
Administrator
From: Warszawa
Registered: 2013-09-04
Posts: 3,482
Website

Re: Standard carto not updating?

I also experience heavy lags in refreshing standard layer, you should probably report it here:

https://github.com/openstreetmap/operations

Offline

#31 2020-07-17 13:50:23

SomeoneElse
Member
Registered: 2010-10-13
Posts: 1,529

Re: Standard carto not updating?

This was dealt with yesterday - see https://github.com/openstreetmap/operations/issues/442.

Offline

#32 2020-07-18 14:17:08

Kovoschiz
Member
Registered: 2019-10-06
Posts: 82

Re: Standard carto not updating?

Kars wrote:

Pretty sure something is wrong. This changeset which was made 2 days ago is only showing up at zoom level 13.

https://github.com/openstreetmap/operations/issues/440

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB