OpenStreetMap Forum

The Free Wiki World Map

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-02-06 13:49:36

zero signal
Member
Registered: 2019-01-30
Posts: 4

Snapping in JOSM

Hello, I can't find a snap/magnet tool in JOSM. I have admin data from my gov and I cant snap to its vertices.

I imagine my workflow as importing gov data to second layer and snapping existing admin boundaries from main OSM layer to it (so trans-layer). Is there a way to do that?

Offline

#2 2019-02-07 02:36:37

Rassilon
Member
Registered: 2018-10-31
Posts: 8

Re: Snapping in JOSM

The poor handling of snapping is why I rarely use JOSM. The iD editor makes it very obvious when something is snapped. My guess is that the snap radius in JOSM is a fixed value that does not vary with zoom level. The only way I was ever able to snap to a node in JOSM was to zoom in really close. Even then I wasn't sure until I tried moving the node. My productivity ground to a halt with it so I only use it for certain tasks.
I should note that I am a noob though so hopefully someone else could enlighten us.

Last edited by Rassilon (2019-02-07 02:37:53)

Offline

#3 2019-02-07 11:52:47

GerdP
Member
Registered: 2015-12-18
Posts: 631

Re: Snapping in JOSM

I think User zero signal means something like the conflation plugin? I've never used it but it seems to do what is wanted
https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/JOS … Conflation

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB