Editor wish list.

I’m just starting to learn to edit on OSM, but I’m not new to map editing.

A large part of my experience is using MapMaker Pro. Some of it’s features could be useful here:

1. MMP made extensive use of layers. In my use of it, I created a high scale map using orthorectified geotiffs. (1 meter per pixel) This was too large to handel in reasonable time showing the entire region (12 x 18 km) on an 8 MB computer. So from the original set of geotiffs, I constructed 2m/pixel, 4m/pix, 8 m/pix, and 16m/pix versions. I added a layer for each of these.

2. MMP has the ability to turn layers on or off depending on the current rendering scale. By picking suitable scales for turning off each of the imagery layers I was able to to have a useable backdrop at all scale levels. OSM does this too. Tertiary roads don’t show up until you zoom in to a certain level of detail.

3. MMP has the ability to lock layers. This is a huge help editing. I organized my mapping into layers:

Hydrology:

• Point items (springs, wells)
  • Linear items (creeks, streams)
  • Area items (Lakes, rivers that show width)

Utilities

• Point items (oil wells, pumping stations, power pylons, pipe access points)
  • Linear items (pipeline right of way, power lines)

Human artifacts

• Buildings
  • Other point items
  • Primary & Secondary roads.
  • Tertiary roads
  • Trails & unmaintained tracks.
  • Control points for checking mapping.

Vegetation overprint.

I tried producing contours from the available digital elevation models, but there were none of sufficient accuracy available for our region. To make a useful contour map would have required 2 meter elevation data. (Gently rolling terrain)