Maxspeed

Please clarify how OSM maxpeed data is used. The most obvious tag “maxspeed” is probably the easiest case.

How about maxspeed depending on vehicles?
A road that has maxspeed 90 km/h by default and 110 km/h only for cars, the ovbious choice for tagging is

maxspeed=90
maxspeed:motorcar=110

Is this data interpreted in the “right way” (from the point of view of car using a nuvi)?
How about other android navigators (partially offtopic, but maybe some of as are expecting some features that like maxspeed indicator that are only available in the NT format that mkgmap is not yet able to generate)

Hi Muralito,
I’ve moved your post to a new topic. I have no knowledge about maxspeed since I only use it for cycling, so maybe someone else can comment on this?

AFAIK in Lambertus’ maps the speed is fixed depending on road class and surface. The choice of speed limits that Garmin maps give us are very limited, so any translation of OSM maxspeed to Garmin speed steps would have to be heavily rounded.

The NT format is encrypted, so I don’t think we will ever see open source NT maps. For OSM to be really useful for navigation we need to use a native application, like OSMand, etc. Check them out and let us know what you find. :wink:

Regards,
Peter.

That depends on the style file you use. Normally, only the plain maxspeed tag is evaluated and gets translated into one of the 8 speed categories available on Garmin devices. Other evaluations are possible: when I create maps for car, I use the strictest value of maxspeed, maxspeed:forward and maxspeed:backward, but if available I use maxspeed:practical…

The maxspeed parameters are set in this file:
https://github.com/openstreetmap/mkgmap/blob/master/resources/styles/default/inc/roadspeed

Thanks.
My reading of this style is that from the point of view of a car driver, with maxspeed=90 and maxspeed:motorcar=110, road-speed is classified as 5 when it seems 6 would be a better choice.