Colour rendering in night mode

Hi, I posted the below in Questions and Answers, and am reposting here at Ligfietser’s suggestion.

Previously when I’ve installed Lambertus’s maps (generic routable), they’ve had a default black background in night mode. Now, whether or not I include a typ file, the default colour is grey. This flickers somewhat, and is not as pleasing to the eye. However, when the next turn popups appear, they are always clear black, as previously.

I’ve always used the basic generic routable version (for a couple of years now), as the new style version had the flickering grey background at night.

Something’s changed, as previously there was also very nice rendering of woodland (in both night and day mode) with green blobs - this is also no longer there.

Is there any way to fix this, please?

I’m using a Streetpilot 2610, if that makes any difference.

I’m not very technical, and I’ve downloaded typviewer and I’m frankly baffled - not a clue how to use it. I also followed a link from Mueschel, but that appears not to be working.

Any help/advice gratefully received!

For other viewers, the link is https://forum.openstreetmap.org/viewtopic.php?id=57176

I dont have any knowledge about the Streetpilot but you can try to check your device for map installing problems:
http://www.javawa.nl/jdm_en.html

Mueschel’s alternative TYP file is using the Generic New style map so that won’t work for the generic map.
Besides, to install the typ file, you need another Javawa tool, http://www.javawa.nl/typchanger_en.html

Thanks. I don’t think there are any installation problems - everything else works as it used to.

Guess I’ll just have to try and educate myself in some of these technical aspects. Does Lambertus read stuff on here? Would he be able to tell me if he’s changed something to make the background (and tree rendering) different? The older maps looked beautiful at night and I’d really like to get back to that.

I’m afraid not