Pubs and Sports Clubs

Hello all, I am new to the OSM world and have a few questions…

When I start adding to the map, one of the easy things to do will be to add data for pubs (which most people I know navigate by :P) and sports clubs (as I all to often can’t find accurate maps to away fixtures) as well as improving the road coverage around my area. This has lead to some thoughts:

a) Would an attribute indicating a pub’s chain be of use? While you can put a shop or resteraunt’s chain as it’s name attribure (eg Tesco, Pizza Hut etc) it is not uncommon to refer to some pub by the chain as well as the name (eg “The Wetherspoon’s in town”). Is there an existing convention? How do I propose a new one?

b) Is there any reason that the icon for a pub I see on the map (a nice friendly pint of beer) differs from the one on the features wikkipage, a somewhat suspect cocktail glass?

c) Most of the clubs I will be entering will be rugby clubs. There are some which share facilities with other sports clubs. I appreciate there is a multi value for the sports attribute, but I’d like to be able to accurately indicate which sports are available, including the clubs’ names, at given locations. Are muliple nodes the way to go or can the same node have multiple sport=xxx and name=xxx attributes?

a) You can use the ‘operator’ tag for adding brand/chain/operator info, e.g. operator=Wetherspoon’s

b) There are different map renderers which all use their own set of symbols. But, maybe the wiki symbol is just out-of-date.

c) One tag can have multiple values e.g. sport=soccer;rugby and name=soccerclubname;rugbyclubname (note the semicolon).

But I believe there is also the option to do something like this:

• name:soccer=soccerclubname
  • name:rugby=rugbyclubname

Don’t know if his will be rendered (guess not) and maybe there are other scheme’s as well, not sure about that. Perhaps someone else can help out on this…