Example: How to map a real and complex junction

Dear all,
I tried to create an example of how to map a real but slightly complex junction.
Since I’m a newbie, I would like to post it first here on the forum for discussion, before a wiki page could be created (the pictures are already uploaded to the wiki).

Please give feedback, if there is

• something wrong
  • something not clear
    or if you simply like it.

Thanks a lot.

How to map a junction:

1. An example of a real but slightly complex junction

2. Frist: add ways and tag

3. Second: add tram halt, but how to design the junction?

4. Third: Simplest way to map junction

5. Fourth: (Optional) map traffic signals

6. Fifth: (Optional) map cycle- and footways

7. Seventh: (Optional) map traffic signals for bicycles and pedestrians

8. Eigth: How it could look like in OSM

First Questions:

• Where should I upload picture files that are not meant for the wiki but only for the forum? Is there a place that is specifically used for this forum?
  • Should the two footways be connected to the tram halt?
  • Should the junction itself be modelled more complex to represent all possible turning options more closely? (it might result in a flood of shared nodes and chaos of all the differnet ways)

Ok, I found the first mistakes myself:

• in the 1st picture a traffic signal is drawn below a line
  • 2nd picture: the primary highways should in this case additionally taged with “lines=2”
  • 2nd picture: the name tags of the streed should have different values (same for cylce- and footways in picture 6)

Nice artwork :slight_smile: It looks to me as some of the most extensive mapping I’ve seen so far, I certainly haven’t mapped in this detail (yet).

The forum has not enough space for storing images locally. I suggest sites like photobucket, flickr, etc. A bit more work I know, sorry…