How to improve OSM default layout?

I am new to OSM, but I really like the projekt and I will be involved. I already do mapping for Orienteering.

But in my point of view, the default OSM map (see http://www.openstreetmap.org/ ) looks awful. How can that be changed? Google Maps looks much better, but it should be possible to make OSM look even better than Google Maps.

Has this been discussed before? I did’t found anything about it.

• In low zoom levels OSM render very little details, that looks awful. OSM should render more forrest. Example zoom level 6 Example zoom level 8

• Some information should be more clear, like road numbers on big roads. Example zoom level 11

• Some colors is really awful, in example the green color for forrest is to intense and look bad. Example zoom level 11

• Similar objects doesn’t really look that similar on the map. In example the red dotted lines and the blue dotted lines in this example (zoom level 14). Similiar objects should have almost similar color (doesn’t have to be the same), maybe different pattern (like black dotted lines, and dark gray dashed lines instead of the red and blue dotted lines).

Maybe OSM should have a design competiotion among Design Students or something like that, and then pick the best map layout. We should be better than Google :wink:

Finally I find it is to many map features, we should maybe have fewer, then is it esier to do mapping.

The map is rendered by Mapnik, so you can make a stylesheet that looks better and propose it :wink: OSM is a project that advances because it’s members come up with new stuff, software, events etc.

Regarding the number of map features that we have in OSM, I strongly disagree that we should have fewer. This project might have street in it’s name, but it’s really about mapping everything around you which includes (but not only) streets.