Uk data onto Garmin - problems

Hi

I’m a newbie - only contributed to OSM for the last 3 months - and this is my first post.

Is it just me, or is it getting much harder lately to get up to date UK map downloads for Garmin?

When I first got involved back in June, there was an updated UK gmapsupp.img file on the /OSM_Map_On_Garmin/Download page about every 2 weeks. But the latest one there now is dated 30 July, 2 months old.

In August, a new page by user Jclark2906 appeared, promising an updated .img download “most weeks”. Only 2 files have ever appeared, dated 9/8/2008 and 17/8/2008.

So I’ve tried to brew my own. In the past I’ve successfully downloaded UK extracts from planet.osm from nick.dev.openstreetmap.org/downloads/planet/ and used mkgmap to create a .img file. But when I try this with the latest uk-080924.osm file, mkgmap just hangs. I have a modest 512MB Win XP PC, BTW.

Maybe uk-080924.osm is corrupt in some way?

Or alternatively I read on the OSM_Map_On_Garmin page that mkgmap won’t process arbitrarily large input files. The documentation unhelpfully doesn’t say how large such arbitrarily large files are, nor does it describe the symptoms of giving it one that’s too big. So I can’t be sure that this is the cause of my problem either. But I am suspicious that this might be the case, and it might explain why the other .img files have stopped appearing, if the folks who generate them are using the mkgmap route too.

If the UK extract has now got too big for mkgmap, are there any plans to fix mkgmap? I found one wishlist for the prog somewhere (can’t find it again) which I don’t recall made any mention of this as a todo. Or split the extracts into 2 files?