OSM roads

Hi , is there someone who know how to filter postgresql query to show up data only for all USA roads, or even is it possible to be done in OSM ? I try to filter data with
SELECT … WHERE
ref LIKE (‘I %’) or
ref LIKE (‘US%’) or
name LIKE (‘State %’) … ,
but this not work fine … it filtering most of the roads but there are still roads that not match the filter … mostly roads that don’t have characters in shields only digits , or state roads because in every state same road have different shield (characters are diff… , digits are same … ). So is it even possible to filter all USA roads somehow ?

Hi,

Use spatial query ST_Intersects with USA polygon.

Hi again,
thank you for reply, but Im new in that and I will need help for this spatial query. Can you give me some more details or redirect me to any link where I can learn how exactly to do it ??? Im with Ubuntu 10.04 server , mapnik2 and postgresql 8.4 and have installed postgis 1.4.0.

What kind of schema are you using? With the “snapshot” schema (see Osmosis documentation on the wiki) you can use the hstore function to do most of the queries you want to do (if I’m understanding your question correctly). Is your current database for the US only? If you want only roads you can use something like “SELECT w.id FROM ways w WHERE w.tags @> ‘highway =>*’” (will return all ways tagged with “highway” which will also give some foot/bicycle paths IIRC). If you want only roads that allow some motorized traffic try something like this:

"SELECT w.id FROM ways w 
        WHERE w.tags @> 'highway=>motorway' 
        OR w.tags @> 'highway=>motorway_link'
        OR w.tags @> 'highway=>trunk' 
        OR w.tags @> 'highway=>trunk_link' 
        OR w.tags @> 'highway=>primary' 
        OR w.tags @> 'highway=>primary_link'
        OR w.tags @> 'highway=>secondary'
        OR w.tags @> 'highway=>secondary_link' 
        OR w.tags @> 'highway=>tertiary' 
        OR w.tags @> 'highway=>tertiary_link'