Help with BlindAid: predicting future 3D data formats & general advice

I am a Research Scientist at MIT working on a new assistive device for the blind called BlindAid. Several people have suggested that OSM may be the best option for getting map data to be read by our system. Unfortunately, OSM currently appears to fall short of our needs, so I must try to predict what it–or some other source of map data–will be like in the future. I would be grateful for any advice or help with this task. If you know people who might be able to help, please alert them. Some OSM groups that appear to have overlapping interests are:

• 3D Development
  • OSM for the blind
  • Indoor Mapping (OSM-ManSizedMatters project)
  • WikiProject_Metro_systems
  • Accessibility

Following this introductory note is some project background and then specific questions. Please feel free to respond to any or all of the questions and forgive me for the long list, or if I am posting this in the wrong place! I am new to OSM. I image that I will have more questions in the future and I would welcome guidance on how best to interact with the OSM community.

You may contact me directly at schloerbATmitDOTedu if you prefer.

Thanks,
David

BACKGROUND

We often describe our system as a kind of MapQuest or Google Maps for the blind, that blind people may use to learn about new environments (e.g., city streets, libraries, bus stations) on their own before actually visiting the places. The system employs a desktop robotic device–a “haptic” device–that functions like a miniature white cane and allows the user to explore virtual maps of the world by touch. The specific haptic device we use is the Phantom (Sensable Technologies) and we use OpenHaptics, which has calls similar to OpenGL, to render the haptic scene. The user also hears spatialized sounds as if standing in the virtual world. I would be happy to send you a copy of a paper that describes our initial prototype in more detail.