You are not logged in.

#26 2012-05-27 23:51:02

gandalfopen
Member
Registered: 2011-11-18
Posts: 10

Re: osmand

can someone tell me how long it is to see my own changes in osm in my androidapp ( osmand+)
kind regards
gandalf

Offline

#27 2012-05-30 17:12:02

stephan75
Member
Registered: 2008-05-28
Posts: 2,753

Re: osmand

Tell us first whether you are using tile data for map display or the compressed vector maps offered by OsmAnd's website.

If you download the list with available map files from within the Osmand app, a date is shown when the obf file was produced, and the date of the map fuile that is already stored on your device.

If you are using tile data, I think they are pulled directly from one of OSM's tile servers ... so changes should appear quickly there.

Offline

#28 2012-05-30 21:37:17

Mondschein
Member
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 1,831

Re: osmand

chris66 wrote:

I have a OpenCycleMap and a CycleMap Layer in OSMAND(0.7.2a).

Is there any difference between these 2 layers?

CycleMap:

http://code.google.com/p/osmand/source/ … nager.java

OpenCycleMap:

http://code.google.com/p/osmand/source/ … ources.xml

Offline

#29 2012-06-29 20:59:59

skela
Member
Registered: 2009-01-25
Posts: 407

Re: osmand

I updated to OsmAnd 0.8, and I must say that it is a huge improvement over the previous version. My biggest complaint is that I would have preferred to compile maps myself, but I was unable to find a compatible OsmAndMapCreator. So, I downloaded the precompiled offline vector map (basemap and two country maps), which work fine. Offline bicycle routing still does not work well in urban areas, but it is inherently much more difficult than car routing. At least the recalculation will not freeze the whole software, as it would do in the Garmin Edge 705. I will not miss the Garmin much. Good job!

Offline

#30 2012-07-01 20:50:24

hbogner
Member
From: Karlovac
Registered: 2010-09-16
Posts: 177
Website

Re: osmand

skela wrote:

I updated to OsmAnd 0.8, and I must say that it is a huge improvement over the previous version. My biggest complaint is that I would have preferred to compile maps myself, but I was unable to find a compatible OsmAndMapCreator. So, I downloaded the precompiled offline vector map (basemap and two country maps), which work fine. Offline bicycle routing still does not work well in urban areas, but it is inherently much more difficult than car routing. At least the recalculation will not freeze the whole software, as it would do in the Garmin Edge 705. I will not miss the Garmin much. Good job!

Isn't there mapcreator in nightly builds?
If you used that one, and it doesn't work, you can try setting up Jenkins but it's overkill.


"What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal."
https://osm-hr.org

Offline

#31 2012-07-02 00:18:26

Mondschein
Member
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 1,831

Re: osmand

skela wrote:

My biggest complaint is that I would have preferred to compile maps myself, but I was unable to find a compatible OsmAndMapCreator.

OsmAndMapCreator compatible with market version (0.8):
http://download.osmand.net/latest-night … atible.zip

OsmAndMapCreator compatible with development version (0.8):
http://download.osmand.net/latest-night … opment.zip

Currently, both OsmAndMapCreator versions (development and market) are compatible with all 0.8 versions.

Last edited by Mondschein (2012-07-02 00:19:15)

Offline

#32 2012-07-03 18:57:38

skela
Member
Registered: 2009-01-25
Posts: 407

Re: osmand

Thanks, I was looking from the wrong place (Google code).
I have been part of the mkgmap community, but I am seriously considering to change direction. I have been building a map of Finland in Garmin format, correcting or suppressing all errors that mkgmap is reporting (mainly, oneways to/from nowhere without fixme=* at one of the end nodes, broken coastline or multipolygons, broken turn restriction relations).

Offline

#33 2012-07-15 09:17:16

Pan
Member
Registered: 2009-06-14
Posts: 49

Re: osmand

This is a very good application. Thanks a lot to the developpers!

How can we update the vector maps?

Offline

#34 2012-07-21 04:53:28

PeeWee32
Member
From: Leusden, NL
Registered: 2010-11-28
Posts: 1,108
Website

Re: osmand

Pan wrote:

How can we update the vector maps?

Osmand releases new versions of maps every now and then. If you go to Settings>offline data>  you can check if there is a new version. (make sure you have internet connection)  If the mapname is blue there is. you then push the download button. If it's green you have the latest version
downloadbutton.jpg

Last edited by PeeWee32 (2012-07-21 04:54:17)

Offline

#35 2012-07-21 11:58:20

Pan
Member
Registered: 2009-06-14
Posts: 49

Re: osmand

Thank you very much!

Offline

#36 2012-07-24 11:49:30

skela
Member
Registered: 2009-01-25
Posts: 407

Re: osmand

PeeWee32 wrote:
Pan wrote:

How can we update the vector maps?

Osmand releases new versions of maps every now and then.

I just tried invoking OsmAndMapCreator, downloaded a couple of weeks ago.

The splitter+mkgmap takes only a couple of minutes on my quad-core laptop. The OsmAndMapCreator seems to take at least one hour. Is there some work in progress to make the compilation faster? Also, is there a non-GUI front-end that simply takes the finland.osm.pbf that I downloaded from Geofabrik?

The OsmAndMapCreator process seems to be I/O bound. I assume that even during the rare periods when the hard disk LED is turned off, the program is only using one CPU core.

Offline

#37 2012-07-24 16:56:17

stephan75
Member
Registered: 2008-05-28
Posts: 2,753

Re: osmand

I am not a programmer, but quite familiar with Osmand and the related elements that have to be processed by MapCreator.

The main developers Victor and Pavol are very busy with improving Osmand at all, but I would like to ask them:

Does it make sense to run Mapcreator wit a profiler program like Valgrind or others to see where it can be speeded up?

This question would be better placed at Osmand's googlegroups forum.

Stephan

Offline

#38 2012-09-21 07:51:05

Eben Fourie
Member
Registered: 2012-09-21
Posts: 7

Re: osmand

Hi folks, using Osmand on HTC Explorer with the maps from the osmand server.

I'm in Wellington, New Zealand. Have been trying out directions for the last couple of days and really impressed !

The OSM data is pretty good for this region as far as street names is concerned, but very little data in house numbers. I found some examples in Auckland, and checked to see that the address search finds them.

My question is about Transportation search.

For Transportation, I just get some text "Transportation results (5.81 km to target)". Not able to click on the "Find more" button, it is disabled. How do I get this to work ?

The POI search works ok, just very little data in the Wellington Region.... Guess I am going to have to get cracking on updating OSM smile

Offline

#39 2012-09-28 18:45:31

chris66
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 9,626

Re: osmand

Hi,
what does the double-slash ("//") in line 47 mean in the default render rules ?
http://code.google.com/p/osmand/source/ … render.xml
Chris


Mapper aus dem Münsterland/NRW. Nicht auf fakebook.

Offline

#40 2012-11-26 20:23:53

hbogner
Member
From: Karlovac
Registered: 2010-09-16
Posts: 177
Website

Re: osmand

skela wrote:

I just tried invoking OsmAndMapCreator, downloaded a couple of weeks ago.

The splitter+mkgmap takes only a couple of minutes on my quad-core laptop. The OsmAndMapCreator seems to take at least one hour. Is there some work in progress to make the compilation faster? Also, is there a non-GUI front-end that simply takes the finland.osm.pbf that I downloaded from Geofabrik?

The OsmAndMapCreator process seems to be I/O bound. I assume that even during the rare periods when the hard disk LED is turned off, the program is only using one CPU core.

I was using osmandmapcreator with bash script to run it in cli with no gui. It works much faster
Later I wanted to upload maps to osmand server but there were some upload problems.
After that they created jenkins setup which allows me to upload it automatically over ssh.
Now i do it over jenkins.

http://code.google.com/p/osmand/wiki/OsmandMapUpdates


"What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal."
https://osm-hr.org

Offline

#41 2013-01-22 17:49:14

Beerforfree
Member
From: Buenos Aires/N. de la Riestra
Registered: 2010-01-12
Posts: 992

Re: osmand

Did anyone heard if OsmAnd is gona include admin levels to search inside city boundaries?
Until know seems to use only the node with the tag place, right?

Offline

#42 2013-01-22 21:32:10

skela
Member
Registered: 2009-01-25
Posts: 407

Re: osmand

hbogner wrote:

I was using osmandmapcreator with bash script to run it in cli with no gui. It works much faster

I managed to do that as well, but it was still taking something like an hour for Finland, using only one CPU core.
splitter+mkgmap does that in maybe 5 or 10 minutes on 4 cores in parallel.
I got the (possibly wrong) impression that OsmAndMapCreator is using sqlite for temporary storage. mkgmap is using main memory data structures, which is fine if the map is split into tiles (whose maximum size is dictated by the Garmin format).

Is OsmAndMapCreator creating a reduced map for higher zoom levels? Is there a high-level description of the OsmAnd vector map format somewhere?

Offline

#43 2013-01-23 01:56:02

Mondschein
Member
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 1,831

Re: osmand

Beerforfree wrote:

Did anyone heard if OsmAnd is gona include admin levels to search inside city boundaries?

Yes.

Beerforfree wrote:

Until know seems to use only the node with the tag place, right?

No.

https://code.google.com/p/osmand/wiki/M … aStructure

Offline

#44 2013-01-24 15:06:22

Mondschein
Member
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 1,831

Re: osmand

skela wrote:

Is OsmAndMapCreator creating a reduced map for higher zoom levels?

Yes.

skela wrote:

Is there a high-level description of the OsmAnd vector map format somewhere?

No, only source code.

Offline

#45 2013-01-26 19:58:05

LeiLar
Member
From: Umeå, Sweden
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 12

Re: osmand

Could anyone here explain what 'Time to go' means? Thanks!
LgaxfxBA

Offline

#46 2013-01-26 22:59:00

Mondschein
Member
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 1,831

Re: osmand

LeiLar wrote:

Could anyone here explain what 'Time to go' means?

Remaining/elapsed journey time (routing).
Tap on the widget to toggle between remaining and elapsed journey time.

Offline

#47 2013-01-27 07:39:39

LeiLar
Member
From: Umeå, Sweden
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 12

Re: osmand

Thanks, Mondschein, much appreciated.

Last edited by LeiLar (2013-01-27 07:41:11)

Offline

#48 2013-02-02 21:44:14

LeiLar
Member
From: Umeå, Sweden
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 12

Re: osmand

One of my sons is disabled but perhaps with the help of OsmAnd he could take walks on his own. Hopefully! What I have in mind is me setting up a route for him to walk along with five or six stops on the way. A walk from his flat and of course back to his flat. Is this possible to do in OsmAnd? I really think it is but I would like to have some step by step instructions in this matter. Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Offline

#49 2013-02-03 09:26:38

Hugo_H
Member
Registered: 2007-10-20
Posts: 329

Re: osmand

@LeiLar,

You are right this is possible. However, I think it is not easy to use even if you have set it up fully.

The way I do this is based on the GPS track in the Android device.

The simplest way is to do the walk yourself (can also by bike or car) and record the walk in the device. Some instructions can be found here: http://code.google.com/p/osmand/wiki/HowToArticles

Alternatively you can record the walk on a GPS device and store it in the following directory: \OSMAND\tracks.

Third method is what you seem to have in mind. Use the navigation of OSMAND. In your case you need to know well how to evaluate the outcome, as it does not always do logical things for the setting "walking.
Select the “destination” on the map (keep your finger on the screen where the destination should be en select destination”.)
Select waypoint 1 (keep your finger on the screen where the waypoint should be en select waypoint”),
and so forth until you have selected the last way point.
Finally keep your finger on the start point on the map and Select “show route from here”.

OSMAND prompts you for the type of route, select walking and wait till the route has been calculated (now its your time for coffee wink.

It will show you the track and you have to verify it!!! If it has unwanted parts, you have to take points out and try to redefine it, till you have a satisfying route.

Open Route details (under menu, different at each smartphone and tablet) and click “save route as GPX file.

Three methods are from here again the same.

Ensure that no destination or gpx routes are in the OSMAND open (close them all under the menu).

Go tot the menu and click directions.  Select gpx route and select the track you just made.
It will load and then choose the  the appropriate direction (as created or reverse).

Now you can follow that route.

The standard in OSMAND is the system language. You can switch that (temporarily) to English may be reducing confusion over the instructions.

Hope this is sufficient detail for you, success

Hugo


Mapping tool: Garmin HCx, Nikon Coolpix L3

Offline

#50 2013-02-03 12:03:19

LeiLar
Member
From: Umeå, Sweden
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 12

Re: osmand

Thanks a bundle! I'll have a go at it later today.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB