OpenStreetMap Forum

The Free Wiki World Map

You are not logged in.

Announcement

The forum software has recently been upgraded. Not all previous modifications have been re-applied yet, see here for more info and problem reporting.

#1 2013-01-15 00:03:04

penumbratom
Member
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 6

Implied speed limits

I live in a residential area of Texas where the speed limit is not posted but is implied by traffic codes to be 30 mph.  Should I enter maxspeed=30 mph for these roads or should I omit the maxspeed field?  In other words, does "maxspeed" apply only to posted speeds?

Offline

#2 2013-01-15 14:24:28

MikeN
Member
Registered: 2009-09-03
Posts: 235

Re: Implied speed limits

It would be appropriate to enter maxspeed for all roads where it applies, even if it is not posted.   There has been talk of being able to apply maxspeed to a city boundary relation for example and having apply to every road without a maxspeed tag, but that has not been an official standard yet (no one tags this way and none of the data users interpret this).

Offline

#3 2013-01-15 16:51:18

MHohmann
Member
From: Tartu, Estonia
Registered: 2009-06-07
Posts: 1,495
Website

Re: Implied speed limits

You might want to add source:maxspeed=* to indicate that the speed limit is implied by traffic codes and not posted explicitly.


SotM Baltics, 3.-4. August 2013, Tartu, Estonia: amenity=university, mappers=yes

Offline

#4 2013-01-15 18:47:30

penumbratom
Member
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 6

Re: Implied speed limits

Will do. Thanks for the advice.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB