OpenStreetMap Forum

The Free Wiki World Map

You are not logged in.

#76 2011-01-17 12:31:54

mapfactor
Member
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Registered: 2010-11-12
Posts: 70
Website

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

Willi2006 wrote:

... I'm wondering at which zoom levels and in which size place names are shown. I expected that it is according to place=city/town/village/hamlet. But it isn't, e.g villages show up at different zoom levels and their names are in different sizes.

The names of places are sorted into 12 "display classes". We use primarily city/town/village/hamlet rule, but we would need more precise rule (the best for us would be priority order of all names). So if available we use population tag. If there is another tag we should use, please let me know.
thanks
   Martin
p.s. I am glad somebody noticed the multi-language feature and liked it smile. At the moment there is only 'name' and 'name:en', but it could be extended to other languages too (it just was not priority yet).

Offline

#77 2011-01-23 10:08:55

wyo
Senior Member
From: Thalwil
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 593
Website

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

I've just installed Navigator10 Free on an old PocketLooX with WindowsMobile5. So far Navigator seems to work just fine. What I question is the horrible high energy consumption. Usually my battery runs fine for about 2h even with GPS active, yet with Navigator running it was empty after about 1h.

It seems the Navigator completely refreshes the screen about every second. And it seems the backlight never is turned down. This isn't a problem when driving in a car but during wandering it's not acceptable. Maybe Navigator10 can't be run on WM5 yet this would make it useless for me.

Wyo

Offline

#78 2011-01-24 11:49:34

mapfactor
Member
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Registered: 2010-11-12
Posts: 70
Website

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

The backlight is by default always on - you can change it in settings in Settings > Application > 2nd page Backlight (there should be possibility to switch between "always on" and "system settings").

If you navigate, the program refreshes every GPS position = usually every second (actually it tries to extrapolate position, so the update could be more frequent, depending on your device). If you use only GPS without navigation, then turn off automatic map rotation, and there should be refresh of the GPS sprite only (unless it leaves the center area - then the map is shifted/refreshed).

Let me know if it helped
   thanks
     Martin

Offline

#79 2011-01-24 12:01:05

Marlow
New Member
From: Ireland
Registered: 2008-11-15
Posts: 3

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

Hi,

I recently aquired a Windows Core 5 based system for my car, and since I do a fair bit mapping, stumbled over this piece of software. The unit I've installed it on is a Hualingan navigation unit.

First of all, thanks, it's brilliant. The UI is pretty straight forward and nicely designed.

I've got a few issues.

When calculating a route, the Navigator sometimes wants to send me over secondary and tertiary roads, instead of prioritizing national (primary routes). I've set it for the fastest route. Is this down to missing speed limits on the roads ?

Also, when recording a route, what is the logging interval ? I haven't found an option to set this.

/M

Offline

#80 2011-01-24 12:20:45

mapfactor
Member
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Registered: 2010-11-12
Posts: 70
Website

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

When calculating a route, the Navigator sometimes wants to send me over secondary and tertiary roads, instead of prioritizing national (primary routes). I've set it for the fastest route. Is this down to missing speed limits on the roads ?

You can set your own car profile and define average speeds for each road category. Alternatively you can set preferences or disable some types of roads completely.

The average speeds of roads are not perfect sad. There is no distinction between urban/non-urban roads yet (during conversion of OSM data), when maxspeed tag is present then it is used also as average speed (this is causing some problems when on nearby roads is maxspeed tag missing), etc. Recommendations how to improve default speeds are welcome smile.


Also, when recording a route, what is the logging interval ? I haven't found an option to set this.

There is no such a option yet - it is every second and it used to be primarily for debugging and not necessarily for mapping. What interval would you use?

Offline

#81 2011-01-24 14:08:51

Marlow
New Member
From: Ireland
Registered: 2008-11-15
Posts: 3

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

mapfactor wrote:

When calculating a route, the Navigator sometimes wants to send me over secondary and tertiary roads, instead of prioritizing national (primary routes). I've set it for the fastest route. Is this down to missing speed limits on the roads ?

You can set your own car profile and define average speeds for each road category. Alternatively you can set preferences or disable some types of roads completely.

The average speeds of roads are not perfect sad. There is no distinction between urban/non-urban roads yet (during conversion of OSM data), when maxspeed tag is present then it is used also as average speed (this is causing some problems when on nearby roads is maxspeed tag missing), etc. Recommendations how to improve default speeds are welcome smile.

The use of max-speed is probably going to help. I'm trying to update some roads locally at the moment to see, if that in the future will improve the calculation and yes, I can see, that missing max-speed tags wouldn't help.

Now, in my case, there is not talk about urban and non-urban roads. I'm talking about non-urban national (primary), non-urban secondary (R-roads, often at the same limit as primary roads, but sometimes slower and certainly not as well build out or maintained) and non-urban tertiary roads (these can be single or 1 1/2 lane wide roads, sometimes with a patch of grass in the middle).

I'm based in Ireland, if that helps. And I could give you a trace for the route, that navigator 10 proposes and a trace for the route, it should take in reality.

mapfactor wrote:

Also, when recording a route, what is the logging interval ? I haven't found an option to set this.

There is no such a option yet - it is every second and it used to be primarily for debugging and not necessarily for mapping. What interval would you use?

1 second interval is perfect. While it's not intended for mapping, it's actually quite useful for that, because it's easily accessible to enable.

/M

Offline

#82 2011-01-24 18:05:12

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

mapfactor wrote:

Also, when recording a route, what is the logging interval ? I haven't found an option to set this.

There is no such a option yet - it is every second and it used to be primarily for debugging and not necessarily for mapping. What interval would you use?

that's not true (on my Touch HD) ... the rate is more like "every 15-30 meters".
I can not use the Navigator10 to GPX traces, it's not accurate (in Bike).

but, it's a nice function, too...!

Offline

#83 2011-01-24 18:12:57

Marlow
New Member
From: Ireland
Registered: 2008-11-15
Posts: 3

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

RGPS wrote:
mapfactor wrote:

Also, when recording a route, what is the logging interval ? I haven't found an option to set this.

There is no such a option yet - it is every second and it used to be primarily for debugging and not necessarily for mapping. What interval would you use?

that's not true (on my Touch HD) ... the rate is more like "every 15-30 meters".
I can not use the Navigator10 to GPX traces, it's not accurate (in Bike).

Are you using an internal GPS device or an external bluetooth one ? Does it work better with other software ?

I often find, that internal gps devices in phones give very poor results, because the antenna isn't good enough. I've always used an external bluetooth gps dongle or like in the case with my unit there is an external antenna, that can be placed in a spot, where it sees loads of satelites to get an accurate fix.

/M

Offline

#84 2011-01-24 19:02:20

wyo
Senior Member
From: Thalwil
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 593
Website

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

mapfactor wrote:

Settings > Application > 2nd page Backlight (there should be possibility to switch between "always on" and "system settings").

That's fine now.

mapfactor wrote:

If you use only GPS without navigation, then turn off automatic map rotation

That doesn't seem to work. I've turned off rotation yet it still updates the screen at least every second, even if I'm at home and no movement is shown. It seems it competes with my battery display (Batty) which tries to stay on top. Could it be that Navigator determines if it's the top most window and if not updates the screen?

Wyo

Offline

#85 2011-01-25 11:55:20

mapfactor
Member
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Registered: 2010-11-12
Posts: 70
Website

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

wyo wrote:
mapfactor wrote:

If you use only GPS without navigation, then turn off automatic map rotation

That doesn't seem to work. I've turned off rotation yet it still updates the screen at least every second, even if I'm at home and no movement is shown. It seems it competes with my battery display (Batty) which tries to stay on top. Could it be that Navigator determines if it's the top most window and if not updates the screen?

The screen is updated every second (e.g. panel with GPS time), but the map is not "painted" when you do not move. The BLIT is performed always, as far as I know.

Offline

#86 2011-01-25 19:58:13

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

Marlow wrote:

1) Are you using an internal GPS device or an external bluetooth one ?
2) Does it work better with other software ?

1) Internal (merged or not -bike- with Re-radiating GPS antenna -car-)
2) Yes, i use NoniGPSplot and the GPX track is perfect...i let him is job and run, in the same time, the Navigator 10.

noniGPSplot trace the plot every second, the navigator NMEA file trace every 15-30 meters.


perhaps, it's good for somes peoples ... but i must have the timing "every second GPS ploting" to detect poor signal urban canyon situation.

Last edited by RGPS (2011-01-25 19:58:23)

Offline

#87 2011-01-26 19:10:27

wyo
Senior Member
From: Thalwil
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 593
Website

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

I've now tried it with backlight = system settings. It really turns off the backlight after my set timeout value, yet it also turns off my PocketLooX when the timeout is reached once again. Sure enough the GPS is also turned off loosing the position. How can I circumvent this?

Wyo

Offline

#88 2011-01-27 06:25:50

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

why i love the product i am unable to figure out how to add a number address to destination.  I am using the us version.  I know i can search the web with google maps built in but when i am in my car with my computer that wont work.  Can you but ih house numbers? am i missing something?
Thanks
Mike

Offline

#89 2011-01-28 14:16:09

mapfactor
Member
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Registered: 2010-11-12
Posts: 70
Website

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

Hello Mike,
you are right - the house numbers available on OSM are not converted to MCA files yet. Anyway, you should be able to search by country/city/street name (crossing) at the moment. There is no full-text search or google-like editfield sad
regards
   Martin

Offline

#90 2011-01-28 20:23:52

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

Question:  change the hand drag from "Vector" to "Image" (software setting) increase the speed of the drag process.
The navigation process is accelerate, too ?
Batterie is better in "Image" instead of "Vector" ?

Thanks smile

Offline

#91 2011-01-28 20:43:18

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

Question 2: The EARTH file is very heavy yikes ...(like a part of Germany). If we don't download countries (Japan, New-Zealand, etcs...), can it navigate accross the world on Highway (like Exx/Axx in Europe) with the only EARTH file ? wink

Last edited by RGPS (2011-01-28 20:43:31)

Offline

#92 2011-01-31 11:32:23

mapfactor
Member
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Registered: 2010-11-12
Posts: 70
Website

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

RGPS wrote:

Question:  change the hand drag from "Vector" to "Image" (software setting) increase the speed of the drag process.
The navigation process is accelerate, too ?
Batterie is better in "Image" instead of "Vector" ?

No, as far as I know it should not have any influence on navigation or battery.

Offline

#93 2011-01-31 11:35:59

mapfactor
Member
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Registered: 2010-11-12
Posts: 70
Website

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

RGPS wrote:

Question 2: The EARTH file is very heavy yikes ...(like a part of Germany). If we don't download countries (Japan, New-Zealand, etcs...), can it navigate accross the world on Highway (like Exx/Axx in Europe) with the only EARTH file ? wink

The earth_osm.mca file contains the "mainland" info, i.e. coastline, country boundaries, major cities (only names in "overview" zoom) and the last update also names of countries. There are no network/routing data, so the answer is NO.

Offline

#94 2011-01-31 20:14:32

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

thanks ! big_smile

Offline

#95 2011-02-05 20:49:48

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

I am looking for a (preferably free) replacement for Garmin n-route.  I have Satellite  internet so need to be careful of download size because of bandwidth limitations.  How large (mb) is your program?  I have the United States in OSM  routable tiles already in img format for mapsource.  Could I copy them and somhow convert them to your program?  Or do I need all new map files.  Also, is it possible (for a price) to get all the maps For the US, or US and Canada on a CD for your program so I don't have to download them?  I did not see a list of compatible GPS Devices, and would like to know if my Garmin 76CS will work with your program.  Thank your for your help.

Offline

#96 2011-02-07 23:02:12

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

countries covered are here : http://navigatorfree.mapfactor.com/en/maps/

MapFactor use "closed" format (.mca) created 1-2 times per month...files are downloaded by the application on PC and copying to "Storage mass" device after.

MapFactor Navigator 10 don't use connection of the cellphone ... EXCEPT for a "manual" location like with Google/Yahoo GPS search, but must have the connection online before (WM6.5.2) because Mapfactor don't connect the 3G/CDMA device automaticly.

Offline

#97 2011-02-08 05:41:20

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

Is there any way to get new mca or cab versions from a Linux computer?

Thanks.

Offline

#98 2011-02-08 11:28:11

mapfactor
Member
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Registered: 2010-11-12
Posts: 70
Website

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

nafg wrote:

Is there any way to get new mca or cab versions from a Linux computer?

At the moment the only way is to use wine (http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.p … &iId=22242).

Offline

#99 2011-02-11 23:06:54

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

BUG: i have an HTC HD with internal GPS antenna...but i use an external 10Hz antenna, too.

Navigator10 not able to use a custom port...i can only choose a "declared in registry" port (COM4, my internal antenna...the COM6 isn't displayed).

I view my 10Hz antenna in Navigator GPS setting (it's a bluetooth Qstarz 818XT), but Navigator can't connect to this antenna.
I use a logger program (GPS2Blue) and have not this problem...(10Hz nmea log OK).

According to this thread : http://blogs.msdn.com/b/raffael/archive … ernal.aspx
It's a knowned problem...Can you add a "raw" COM port in Navigator ? To bypass the GiD of Windows Mobile ?



SOLVED: I have a ROM 6.5.2 from NRG, i have flashed to the STOCK Rom on the HTC Touch HD (6.1) and the Navigator 10 work now with my 10Hz antenna.

Strange... hmm

Last edited by RGPS (2011-02-13 20:45:56)

Offline

#100 2011-02-22 05:55:30

Willi2006
Senior Member
From: Khon Kaen, Thailand
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 421
Website

Re: "free" Navigator 10 by mapfactor.com ... uses OSM data

RGPS wrote:

Also, when recording a route, what is the logging interval ? I haven't found an option to set this.

mapfactor wrote:

There is no such a option yet - it is every second and it used to be primarily for debugging and not necessarily for mapping. What interval would you use?

RGPS wrote:

that's not true (on my Touch HD) ... the rate is more like "every 15-30 meters".
I can not use the Navigator10 to GPX traces, it's not accurate (in Bike).

In my experience Navigator just records the raw NMEA data, i.e. as they are delivered by the GPS receiver. E.g. my TomTom Wireless GPS receiver (Bluetooth) can deliver more than one point per second. And Navigator records them all when running on my netbook without other active programs. And that's great because the maximum possible track points are available for mapping. In other software like the JOSM plugin livegps or OSMtracker the minimum you can configure is 1 second. And even this is only reached on a fast device which isn't busy with other tasks. E.g. with my old PDA Qtek 2020i and the same GPS receiver I rarely get recorded one point per second but one every 3 or 5 seconds.

I recommend to have a look at the abilities, the settings and the other tasks running on your device. I'm quite sure it's not Navigator's fault.

Last edited by Willi2006 (2011-02-22 06:31:52)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB 1.4.8
Hosting sponsored by Oxilion