Incorrect Street Name

I am brand new to OpenStreetMap, having just read about it this morning in a Los Angeles Times article.

I see that the street on which I live is not accurately named. (3 streets come together in a Y shape - two legs of the “Y” have one name, while the third leg has a different name. The current map inaccurately shows that the base of the Y has the same name as the right hand top leg, while it actually shares the name of the left hand top leg.)

I am sure there is an easy way to correct this, but I cannot find it. Could someone please point me in the right direction.

Welcome to OSM!

1. Always post a permalink (lower right corner on OSM.org). That will make it easier for everybody to see what you’re talking about. :wink:

2. You need to split the way and rename the wrong leg. How to do that depends on your editor. If you can’t figure out how to do that (always search in the online help and the wiki-pages first!) feel free to post more questions here.

Simplest way would be to go to www.openstreetmap.org zoom the map all the way in to the point where the ways diverge. Click on the Edit tab (you might need to login). Choose ‘edit with save’. Give the ways the correct name (you might need to use the scissors to cut the way with the same name into two sections). If you’re satisfied, hit save and wait a few minutes to an hour for the renderers to catch up and voila, hopefully :wink:

To use the scissors, click on the way you want to split, then click the intersection node, then click the scissors or hit X.

(By the way, if you only change the properties of ways, not nodes, it won’t automatically rerender unless you append /dirty to the URL of the tile image.)