Help on XML export

Hi
I’m a newbie to OSM and wanted to use the xml data for my 3rd Year degree Computing project. I’m having trouble reading the tags (nodes) correctly and would appreciate any advice/assistance.
E.g; Is there a list of the tag definitions and the tree structure of the xml file anywhere or is there a standard xml setup for reading osm files. Or have I just used the wrong export (I think I just used the std “OpenStreetMap XML Data” selection)?

Thanks for any assistance
MannyW

Hi,
on the export Tab you click on “OpenStreetMap XML Data” and hit “Export”.

Then you should get a map.osm which is the xml file with all the nodes, ways and relations.

Looks like:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<osm version="0.6" generator="OpenStreetMap server">
  <bounds minlat="51.63868" minlon="7.38102" maxlat="51.65356" maxlon="7.41128"/>
  <node id="71105169" lat="51.6387564" lon="7.3873334" version="1" changeset="166848" user="rotwang" uid="11180" visible="true" timestamp="2007-10-14T17:15:35Z">
    <tag k="created_by" v="JOSM"/>
  </node>
  <node id="71105175" lat="51.6389788" lon="7.3863693" version="1" changeset="166848" user="rotwang" uid="11180" visible="true" timestamp="2007-10-14T17:15:35Z">
    <tag k="created_by" v="JOSM"/>
  </node>

But you can export only small regions. For large areas you can download files for example from download.geofabrik.de

http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/.osm

Chris

Hi Chris
Thanks for the details, but I’d already got that far and got the file.

It’s being able to read the file correctly thats the issue. I’m in Brighton and have downloaded a section of Brighton and surrounding area and have tags titled member, node, way etc, but a standard Java xml file-reader program is having problems with the tags. That’s why I asked if there was a ‘listing’ of the tags/nodes etc?

Is there something special/different between an osm file and a ‘standard’ xml file?

Thanks
MannyW