All Roads names outdated in Kearny County Kansas

All of the road names in Kearny County Kansas were changed several years ago. I am new to openstreetmap and was wondering if there’s a way that all the road names could be updated in this County. I’m not sure how to do it, but I have an official county map with all the new road names that I could attach here. Any help would be appreciated.

Can you find a federal level map? US federal maps are OK to use from a copyright point of view, but county maps may well be subject to copyrights.

The preferred method is to compare the two maps, to find where there may be changes, and then go to the individual roads and check how they are actually signed on the ground.

If you can get copyright clearances, there is some automation that you could do, but you should still check each change by eye. You should also get permission from your national OSM mailing list, as this would be a bulk import. One of then dangers is that the county map may not match the sign on the ground. In that case, the sign takes precedence.

Changing all the names seems a silly thing to do!

Changing all the names seems a silly thing to do!

Often the purpose of name change projects is to create a standard naming convention that helps emergency services locate the source of a call:

• Make ‘streets’ run one direction, while ‘avenues’ run perpendicular
  • Eliminate duplicate road names in different parts of the same jurisdiction
  • Eliminate road name conflicts with neighboring jurisdiction
  • Correct the case of a road that has been split into 2 separate segments but still has the same name

Sounds like a particularly US thing.

We get this sort of issue with bus stops in the UK, but not generally with road names, and certainly not bulk renamings of either.