Traffic Light Mapping and Usage

I’m taking a deep breath asking this as I’m totally new to OSM. I’ll make my propositions here and see what comes back.

I am developing a mobile app whereby users can mark the location when they pass an intersection controlled by a traffic signal or stop sign (more reasons why one would stop their drive are being considered).

1. would this user data be useful in updating the location of the traffic lights maps (and how), and

2. is there a method via API calls that my app can get traffic light locations are on a particular street/intersection by position (and bearing)?

I’m looking at building both an Android app and associated web server for this system, so the android app and/or the server app could pull data, and send data back up to the mapping system to update. Thanks,

I doubt the position that you will receive from your app will be very accurate, i.e. not accurate enough for individual traffic lights poles. Some apps are doing this for traffic signs and the position can be a few hundred meters off. And that is for signals that automatically recognized signals by the app. So when a user has to press a button while driving, it might be even worse. You might get an indication of where traffic signals are missing, but for complex intersections where right turns do not have to pass the signal, I doubt it can be automated.

Right now, traffic signals are typically mapped at the node that is the crossing of 2 roads, although a few variations are possible, see the wiki

For retrieving data, take a look at Overpass and Overpass turbo (UI)