OSM based restaurant, hotels, etc reviews

2 or 3 years ago, I rember a website based on openstreetmap where visitors could review tourist destinations. Some sort of trip advisor alternative. Unfortunately, I cant find it anymore?

Does anyone remeber?

http://openmarkers.tuxfamily.org

perhaps?

(I’m in no way affiliated with it and have never even logged in, but stumbled across it a couple of days ago)

Cheers,

Andy

Thanks. I think it that was it. But the site seems abandonned. :frowning:

Hey Pan,
I’m not a programmer, but I’ve been dreaming of a project like this. It’s not easy though, as osm-id’s aren’t very stable, and opinions aren’t welcome in the OSM database.

You could use Overpass Permanent IDs for referencing OSM data from elsewehere

Hello,

Each time I enlighten somebody concerning OpenStreetMap, they unavoidably ask “Why not utilize Google Maps?” From a pragmatic angle, it’s a sensible inquiry, at the end of the day this isn’t simply a question of reasonableness, however of what sort of society we need to live in. I examined this point in a 2008 chat on OpenStreetMap I gave at the first MappingDC meeting. Here are a significant number of same ideas, however, extended.

Lake Tahoe summer activities

Does OSM have any type of a Google Map style review?

Only Changeset Comments, & they are more to point out errors, or ask questions, rather than saying good work

1 Like

Map notes. Not a review, but it is a way for non-mappers to leave suggestions and ask for improvement.

PS ah, I didn’t fully read the topic. Map notes are not appropriate for reviews of restaurants, hotels etc. Reviewing would be a separate service. OSM doesn’t track where you travel and then ask how you liked it. Such a service could of course use OSM as their base map.

3 Likes

You mean reviews of places like restaurants or tourist attractions, right? No, OSM doesn’t have that.