Trying to incorporate OSM into research project

Hi–

For a research project designed to optimize fuel consumption, I need to incorporate a road map and road elevation data into my program. I think OSM is just right for this, but am having a little trouble getting started. I’m hoping that someone can steer me in the right direction for how best to do this.

As a first step, what I am looking specifically to do is:

1. Be able to identify all roads within a certain neighborhood (e.g. radius) of a given location
  2. Be able to identify which of the above roads intersect
  3. Do all this automatically, from some kind of C, Java, Fortran, etc. program that can run on a microcontroller or DSP
  4. It must be open source, or at least have a free license.

I’m having a terrible time doing this, mostly because I’m just getting started into GIS. It should be a very easy question to answer, and it seems that any kind of GPS router can do this very easily and quickly. I’ve been staring at shapefiles, though, and don’t really see how this could be done. Someone, somewhere mentioned a shp database, but I’m fuzzy on what this could be and how I could use it.

I imagine that this should look something like a database where I query a specific “Road” and “section” and have it return all intersecting entries. For instance, every section of a road-- with the exception of dead ends-- would intersect with at least two other sections: the one immediately before and the one immediately after.

Right now, I don’t need to know the names and non-physical characteristics of roads and intersections. I just need to know where they are and what their orientation in space is.