JOSM maparea, creating IMG, uploading to postgreSQL

GD,

First of all, I’m relatively ne to the OSM community, but liking it s far…

There are several challenges that I would like to overcome with regard to using and updating the information.

A little background:
I’m a entusiastic 4x4 driver, as such I’m always on the lookout for the most up-to-date ad most accurate maps containing all the smallest tracks.
Now I believe I found same in the OSM collection, most of all because you can upload your own tracks.

This lead me to the following challenge, how to use this manificent data on my GARMIN 76CSx, that was no issue. Dowloade the IMG file from osmaustralia.com.au, used img2gps and of you go!
Up to date and accurate information on my GARMIN.

That got me wondering about something else; considering my phone has a GPS as well, could I possibly upload the IMG file to my phone and have some android app use it ?

Also no ‘real’ challenge, found Androzic on google play, works like a charm!

However, there is one challenge remaining: How to pre-load Androzic with sufficient tiles so that it will be able to safely navigate me through rugged terrain with no cellphone signal, hence it cannot download its own tiles…

My thougt was to use the IMG file, as that seems to contain all the data for entire WA in all details!
Yet I have been unable to make that work.

So, I ended up at Mobile Atlas Creator, but that receives a lot of ‘blocked tiles’ because it is requesting too many tiles.

So, the solution lies in making my own maps…

Therefore, I’ve downloaded JSOM to be able to manipulate OSM information, which works fine, however if I save the information in an OSM file and the use mkgmap to create an IMG file that I can then upload to my GPS (using img2gps) I keep getting the same small area instead of the data contained (and displayed in JSOM) in the OSM file ?